Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Prints and Drawings

Collections & departments Department of Prints and Drawings

One of the Louvre’s eight departments is home to the museum’s extensive collection of drawings, pastels, miniatures, prints, books, manuscripts, autograph works, woodcuts, copperplates, and lithographic stones.

Back to list

The Department of Prints and Drawings is home to an outstandingly rich collection, one of the largest in the world. It comprises drawings (loose leaves and albums), pastels, miniatures, prints, books, manuscripts, autograph works, woodcuts, copperplates, and lithographic stones. However, it is the least well known of the museum’s eight departments—a paradox explained by the fragility of the works, which prevents their permanent display. Nonetheless, they can be discovered through a range of publications and presentations, and through an online database; they can also be viewed by appointment.

Under the direction of Xavier Salmon, the department is divided into sections according to school and century, and each section has its own curator:

Epistemology of drawing: Lizzie Boubli, seconded to the CNRS
French and Italian schools, 15th‐16th centuries: Dominique Cordellier (dominique.cordellier@louvre.fr)
Italian school, 16th century, architectural drawings: Louis Frank (louis.frank@louvre.fr)
Italian school, 17th-18th centuries: Catherine Loisel‐Théret (catherine.loisel@louvre.fr)
French school, 17th‐18th centuries: Juliette Trey (juliette.trey@louvre.fr)
French school, 19th centuries: Marie-Pierre Salé (marie-pierre.sale@louvre.fr)
Northern schools, Olivia Savatier-Sjöholm (olivia.savatier@louvre.fr)
Edmond de Rothschild collection, Séverine Lepape (severine.lepape@louvre.fr)
Prints, “Chalcographie” (engraved plates), miniatures, Jean-Gérald Castex (jean-gerald.castex@louvre.fr)

The curatorial team is supported by researchers who work on aspects of the collection and contribute to exhibitions and inventories:

. Bénédicte Gady, scientific associate: French and Italian schools, 17th century (benedicte.gady@louvre.fr)
. Hélène Grollemund, exhibition organizer: German school (helene.grollemund@louvre.fr)
. Federica Mancini, exhibition organizer: Genoese and Lombard schools, 15th-18th centuries (frederica.mancini@louvre.fr)

Temporary exhibitions give visitors an opportunity to discover and study the department’s works. The reading room in the Pavillon de Flore is also accessible on written request:
cabinet-des-dessins@louvre.fr or +33 (0)1 40 20 52 51
For the Rothschild collection, appointments are necessary:
collection-rothschild@louvre.fr or +33 (0)1 40 20 50 32.

Files on artworks and artists, department inventories and exhibition catalogues, reference books and periodicals are available to all at the resource center. The digital database contains a detailed, illustrated inventory of the department’s 200,000 artworks, and an inventory of the Musée Napoléon; it also records all the exhibitions at which the department’s works have been presented since they entered the museum’s collection.
The center is open from Monday to Friday, from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Documentation managers: Brigitte Donon (brigitte.donon@louvre.fr) and Michèle Gardon (michele.gardon@louvre.fr).
Laura Angelucci, scientific information specialist: Italian school 16th century, French school late 18th-early 19th century (laura.angelucci@louvre.fr)
Victoria Fernandez, scientific information specialist: Edmond de Rothschild collection of prints (victoria.fernandez@louvre.fr)
Isabelle Leunuque, documentalist: library (isabelle.leunuque@louvre.fr)
Roberta Serra, scientific information specialist: Italian school (roberta.serra@louvre.fr)
Elisabetta Bartoli, documentalist: film and photography manager (elisabetta.bartoli@louvre.fr)
Thanh-Thuy Trinh-Khac: reception (Thanh-Thuy.Trinh-Khac@louvre.fr)

Valérie Corvino (valerie.corvino@louvre.fr) is the collection manager, in association with Cécile Breffeil-Ducrot (cecile.breffeil@louvre.fr) and Christel Winling (christel.winling@louvre.fr), and the department’s restoration workshop is managed by Valentine Dubard de Gaillarbois (valentine.dubard@louvre.fr).

Practical information

Documentation managers:
Brigitte Donon (brigitte.donon@louvre.fr)
Michèle Gardon (michele.gardon@louvre.fr)

Reading room of the department
Opening hours: open from Monday to Friday,
from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Admission: on written request
Location: Porte des Lions
Email: cabinet-des-dessins@louvre.fr
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 52 51

Rothschild collection
Opening hours: by appointment only
Admission: appointments are necessary
Location: Porte des Lions
Email: collection-rothschild@louvre.fr
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 50 32

Study and research center of the department
Opening hours: open from Monday to Friday,
from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Admission: free admission
Location: Porte des Lions
Email: brigitte.donon@louvre.fr
or michele.gardon@louvre.fr  
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 51 94