Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Louvre Abu Dhabi

Louvre Abu Dhabi

Through an intergovernmental agreement signed on March 6, 2007, France and the United Arab Emirates decided to create Louvre Abu Dhabi, a singular and unique museum which will bring together the dynamism of Abu Dhabi and the values of excellence embodied by the Louvre name.

The agreement will thus bestow the United Arab Emirates with an international museum that will place Abu Dhabi among the great cultural nations, and more particularly, the great museums of the world. More generally, the agreement will establish the United Arab Emirates as a central arena for dialogue between civilizations and cultures, particularly Occidental, Middle Eastern and Asian. The agreement will also forge a preferential cultural relationship with France, to benefit from its experience and its centuries-old heritage.

For France, the agreement underscores the excellence of its museum expertise and know-how through the design of a unique institution. It provides a cross-section of French public collections, showcasing them in a new light, for a new public. Given the high financial stakes involved, the agreement will in return allow for better development of projects by French museum partners of Louvre Abu Dhabi.

By making the museum a focus of its cultural development, the Emirate of Abu Dhabi underscores the museum institution’s capacity for invention and renewal.

The first universal museum in the Arab world, Louvre Abu Dhabi is an innovative and ambitious project. Transferring to an Arab country a cultural form born in Enlightenment Europe, its deep sense of identity is rooted in the notions of discovery, exchange and thus education. Its very name affirms the unprecedented alliance between the world’s biggest museum, a permanent place of beauty and knowledge, and modern Arabia, whose exceptional dynamism is at the heart of the contemporary world.  It is not a matter of reproducing the Louvre, or following its scientific itinerary to the letter, but rather extending in its name a generous invitation to a sensitive and enlightened view.

Through loans provided for in the intergovernmental agreement, the contributions from a number of French public collections, particularly those of the Agence France-Muséums shareholder institutions: the Centre Pompidou, the Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie, the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, the Musée du Quai Branly, the Réunion des Musées Nationaux-Grand Palais, the Musée National des Châteaux de Versailles et de Trianon, the Musée National des Arts Asiatiques Guimet, the École du Louvre, the Musée Rodin, the Domaine National de Chambord, and the OPPIC will doubtless take these ideas to a new level. For the first time in their museum history, these ensembles will often find continuity and unity of presentation, going beyond habitual institutional boundaries. Multidisciplinary, and contemplating the concomitance and correspondence of artistic expressions from different civilizations, the scientific and cultural choices of Louvre Abu Dhabi will encourage the exploration of new approaches and open new perspectives on French museum heritage.

The polyphonic collections reflect the multicultural reality of current and future development in Abu Dhabi, a characteristic that prolongs Arabia’s age-old role as a bridge between the West and East, the North and South. The days of the Incense Route and the history of the Persian Gulf, which served as a link between Europe and the Indian Ocean, opening up exchanges between Asia and Africa, gave rise to the concept of a crossroads of civilizations that will be highlighted in museum exhibition spaces. The permanent and unique exchange between the East and West consequently established by Louvre Abu Dhabi will help this new cultural institution secure its place on the international museum scene. The creation in Abu Dhabi of other museums but also universities is sure to establish the Emirate as the new “go to” place for education and culture in this part of the world.

Louvre Abu Dhabi, an expression of the new global dimension of museums

The focus of Louvre Abu Dhabi is a universal vocation underlined in the intergovernmental agreement of March 6, 2007. The United Arab Emirates have thus taken a major step toward making Louvre Abu Dhabi the first universal museum in the Arab world. This decision, as bold as it may be, must not come as a surprise from a young country, still under construction, which intends to show its desire and need to embrace skills and knowledge. Acknowledging the universal nature of Louvre Abu Dhabi means fully embracing the constant and natural extension of the museum family. The intergovernmental agreement that presides over the creation of the institution provides the terms for an international collaboration of unprecedented scope. Clearly removed from the concept of a short-lived event, Louvre Abu Dhabi views the project at another level to lay the foundations of a sustainable institution bearing the Louvre name for thirty years. Its design is thus in keeping with the development of an international public, increasingly diverse and greater in number for the Louvre and French museums, regarded around the world as a gold standard of cultural excellence.
 
The project excludes no one: all cultures and civilizations that make up the global inventory of humanity are invited to express themselves, and the public as a whole is invited to visit. Since dialogue implies mutual understanding, in-depth reflection on outreach will aim to meet the challenge of difference and otherness to create the conditions for genuine interactiveness with the public. The multicultural nature of dialogue is, for that matter, perceived as a chance to enrich the diversity of points of view. To rise to this challenge, the museum will promote dialogue between collections as diverse as prehistoric art, French eighteenth-century furnishings, the art of Islam, India and China, African art, contemporary art, and so on. 

Universalism, an historical and philosophical foundation: Louvre Abu Dhabi in relation to the Louvre and French museums

Taking a universalist approach to a project is a challenge. It needs to be reiterated here that to design a museum today from a universalist perspective is to consider the mission of this institution on the basis of dialogue, respect and teaching on the diversity of artistic and cultural expression. Universalism does not mean unilateralism. The question of Louvre Abu Dhabi as a universal museum warrants clarification. Obviously, the answer is manifold and has to compare the different perspectives found within an unprecedented project.

The first, and most obvious, perspective of Louvre Abu Dhabi’s universalism stems from the history of museums and particularly that of the Louvre, whose excellence will be conveyed by the future institution. The palace that became the Muséum National in 1793 was a product of the encyclopedic thought of the Enlightenment and of the French Revolution.

Sharing artistic wealth, educational mission, national dimension and cultural outreach — all the historical bases of the universal museum have thus been established and in many respects are found today in the creation of Louvre Abu Dhabi. The Louvre serves here as a model and a reference, but these must be adapted to a new context, to accurately meet the major challenge of the agreement of March 6, 2007, and to meet the fundamental demand for cultural transfer between France and Abu Dhabi. The challenge of this transfer is all the more complex and exhilarating in that it has a twofold focus on innovation and historical and museum tradition. This challenge offers the Louvre and French museums the potential to show their capacity to create, together, a museum of the twenty-first century.

Louvre Abu Dhabi : projet architectural

Louvre Abu Dhabi : projet architectural

© TDIC, AJN, Artefactory, Louvre Abu Dhabi

In the image of the architectural project by Jean Nouvel who invents a museum-city, a city-world through a variation on the forms of Arab architecture, the universalism of Louvre Abu Dhabi must give rise to a genuine cultural mix. In this respect, Louvre Abu Dhabi will demonstrate its universality first and foremost by its collections. The geographical, historical and cultural reality of Abu Dhabi is that of a bridge between the East and West, understood in their broadest sense, to which the United Arab Emirates’s request to France has given an added dimension with strong symbolism. How can one not henceforth wish for this gesture of trust and openness toward others to be one of openness to the world’s artistic diversity? Because the history of Louvre Abu Dhabi is just starting to be written, it is easier for us to unlock the potential of this wide range of approaches from the outset.

Le songe de Jacob de Bartolomé Esteban Murillo (détail). Louvre Abu Dhabi : Collections

Le songe de Jacob de Bartolomé Esteban Murillo (détail). Louvre Abu Dhabi : Collections

© TDIC, Louvre Abu Dhabi

The Louvre’s universalist postulate, closely connected to its name, invites us to consider for Louvre Abu Dhabi a consolidation of this long museum-building process. A consolidation undertaken in the 6,000 sq.m of permanent galleries and the 2,000 sq.m of temporary exhibition space, where the pooling of French public collections, and the museum’s own collection, will foster new exchanges and authorize innovative museographic developments to better address visitor diversity. The choice of artworks presented, with regard to their rather limited number — 600 artworks are planned for the opening of the museum, combining loans from French collections and acquisitions for the museum’s own collection—is a key issue. They will have to provide the museum with a singular and ongoing discourse, while giving visitors the opportunity to encounter artistic creation and enjoy the esthetics of art. In this respect, Louvre Abu Dhabi’s acquisition policy, steered by Agence France-Muséums curators, in conjunction with the major heritage departments of France, must be a reflection of this broad openness to artistic diversity. 

Inscribed by its name and creation in the community of great international museums, Louvre Abu Dhabi is, naturally, called to be a full member and to play a major role. It will thus serve as an important center for art history and research in this region of the world, providing an opportunity to introduce and support specific programs in the fields of its collections and its new approaches.

The challenges of the museum’s educational role

Carried by a desire to promote an unprecedented cultural transfer between France and the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, Louvre Abu Dhabi will play a major educational role. It will remain true to the educational missions of the Louvre and the French museums that were at the heart of the creation in 1793, and are renewed to this day. Involvement in the École du Louvre project, being a shareholder of the Agence France-Muséums and the Institut national du patrimoine, provides an opportunity to conceive, starting today, of training programs for future museum employees, combining theoretical teaching and work placements in French museums. These work placements will establish strong, long-lasting ties between the French professionals and their future Emirate colleagues, thus creating the conditions for rich dialogue between Louvre Abu Dhabi and French museums. The launch in Abu Dhabi, scheduled for November 2010, of a Masters in Museum Studies, teaming for the first time the École du Louvre and the Université Paris IV Sorbonne, underlines the strength of this French commitment. The courses, given by university professors and museum professionals, in French, English and Arabic, at the Paris Sorbonne Louvre Abu Dhabi faculty, will enable students, many of whom are from the Emirates, to obtain an internationally recognized diploma from the two institutions, leading to research work for those who wish to take their career in this direction.

In addition, Louvre Abu Dhabi will be a privileged location for discovery and research in archeology and art history, welcoming researchers and scientists. The transfer of knowledge, a core mission of the Louvre and French museums, will thus also be one of the major roles of the future museum.

The opportunity for a cultural project shared by two nations, an unprecedented collaborative venture for French museums

Based on an original scientific and cultural project, nurtured by the museum and cultural values symbolized by the Louvre name, the Louvre Abu Dhabi project thus places the museum’s primary missions—to preserve, develop, exhibit and explain—at the heart of its creation. It is, there again, and no doubt primarily, one of the greatest opportunities of this project, which gives new impetus to museum professions by underscoring their dynamism and creativity, even stronger now that they are nourished by the demands of loyalty to a remarkable tradition.

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Le Louvre dans le monde>Louvre Abou Dabi

Louvre Abu Dhabi

Créé par un accord intergouvernemental signé le 6 mars 2007 entre la France et les Émirats Arabes Unis, le Louvre Abu Dhabi sera un musée singulier et original, liant le dynamisme d'Abu Dhabi et les valeurs d'excellence incarnées par le nom du Louvre.

L’accord permet ainsi aux Émirats Arabes Unis de se doter d’un établissement muséal de niveau international, qui permettra de placer Abu Dhabi parmi les grandes nations culturelles, et en particulier, les grands musées mondiaux. D’un point de vue plus général, cet engagement offre aux Émirats Arabes Unis de s’affirmer comme un lieu central du dialogue entre les civilisations et les cultures, notamment occidentales, moyen-orientales et asiatiques. Enfin, cet accord construira avec la France une relation culturelle privilégiée, afin de bénéficier de son expérience et de son patrimoine plurimillénaire.

Pour la France, l’accord souligne l’excellence de son expertise et de son savoir-faire muséographique, en envisageant la conception d’une institution originale. Il s’agit d’offrir une vision transversale des collections publiques françaises, permettant de les mettre en valeur sous un jour nouveau, pour des publics nouveaux. En retour, l’accord permettra, grâce à l’importance de ses enjeux financiers, un meilleur développement des projets muséaux des institutions françaises partenaires du Louvre Abu Dhabi.

En plaçant le musée au cœur de son développement culturel, l’émirat d’Abu Dhabi souligne la capacité d’invention et de renouveau de l’institution muséale.

Premier musée universel dans le monde arabe, le Louvre Abu Dhabi est un projet novateur et ambitieux. Transférant vers un pays arabe une forme culturelle née de l’Europe des Lumières, il porte au plus profond de son identité les notions de découverte, de rencontre et donc d’éducation. Son nom même affirme l’alliance inédite du plus grand musée du monde, lieu pérenne de beauté et de connaissance, avec l’Arabie moderne, dont l’exceptionnel dynamisme est au cœur du monde contemporain. Il n’est pas ici question de reproduire le Louvre, ni de suivre à la lettre le périmètre de ses domaines scientifiques, mais de prolonger sous son nom une généreuse invitation au regard, sensible et éclairée.

L’apport, grâce aux prêts prévus par l’accord intergouvernemental, de multiples collections publiques françaises, au premier rang desquelles se trouvent les établissements actionnaires de l’Agence France-Muséums : le Centre Pompidou, l’établissement public du musée d’Orsay et du musée de l’Orangerie, la Bibliothèque nationale de France, le musée du quai Branly, la Réunion des musées nationaux - Grand Palais, le musée et domaine national de Versailles, le musée national des arts asiatiques Guimet, l’École du Louvre, le musée Rodin, le domaine national de Chambord, l’Opérateur du patrimoine et des projets immobiliers de la culture, offre de donner à ces idées une nouvelle ampleur. Souvent, pour la première fois de leur histoire muséale, ces ensembles retrouveront une continuité et une unité de présentation, dépassant les limites institutionnelles habituelles. Pluridisciplinaires, et envisageant la concomitance et la correspondance des expressions artistiques de différentes civilisations, les choix scientifiques et culturels du Louvre Abu Dhabi permettront d'explorer de nouvelles approches, et de porter un nouveau regard sur le patrimoine des musées français.

À cette diversité des collections répond la réalité multiculturelle du développement présent et futur d’Abu Dhabi. Cette caractéristique prolonge le rôle millénaire de l’Arabie comme lien entre l'Ouest et l'Est, le Nord et le Sud. C'est dans le souvenir de la route de l'encens et de l’histoire du Golfe Persique, point de passage entre l’Europe et l’Océan Indien, ouvrant la voie du contact avec l’Asie et l’Afrique, que se trouve l'idée de carrefour des civilisations qui sera privilégiée dans les salles du musée. La rencontre permanente et singulière de l’Orient et de l’Occident qu’instaure de fait le Louvre Abu Dhabi permettra à cette nouvelle institution culturelle de trouver sa place dans le contexte muséal international. La création à Abu Dhabi de plusieurs autres institutions muséales mais aussi universitaires offre à l’émirat de constituer un nouveau lieu de référence pour l’éducation et la culture dans cette région du monde.

Le Louvre Abu Dhabi, expression de la nouvelle dimension mondiale des musées

Le Louvre Abu Dhabi est placé sous le signe d’une vocation universelle soulignée dans l’accord intergouvernemental du 6 mars 2007. Les Émirats Arabes Unis ont ainsi franchi un pas capital qui fera du Louvre Abu Dhabi le premier musée universel dans le monde arabe. Cette décision, pour audacieuse qu’elle soit, ne doit pas étonner de la part d’un pays jeune, encore en construction, qui entend afficher sa volonté et son besoin d’accueillir compétences et savoirs. Reconnaître le caractère universel du Louvre Abu Dhabi revient à admettre pleinement l’élargissement constant et naturel de la famille des musées. L’accord intergouvernemental qui préside à la création de l’institution, envisage les modalités d’une collaboration internationale d’une ampleur inédite. S’éloignant nettement de l’événement et de l’éphémère, le Louvre Abu Dhabi envisage le projet à une autre échelle pour poser les fondements d’une institution pérenne, portant le nom du Louvre pendant trente ans. Sa conception s’inscrit ainsi en lien avec le développement de publics internationaux, de plus en plus divers et nombreux au sein du Louvre et des musées français, regardés dans le monde comme une référence de l’excellence culturelle.

Le projet n’exclut personne : toutes les cultures et les civilisations qui constituent l’inventaire mondial de l’humanité sont conviées à s’exprimer, et tous les publics sont invités, sans exclusive, à la visite. Comme le dialogue sous-entend la compréhension mutuelle, une réflexion approfondie en matière de médiation visera à répondre au défi de la différence et de l’altérité pour créer les conditions d’une véritable interactivité avec le public. Le caractère multiculturel de ce dernier étant par ailleurs perçu comme une chance pour enrichir la diversité des points de vue. Enfin, pour répondre à cet enjeu, le musée proposera un dialogue entre des collections aussi diverses que l’art préhistorique, le mobilier français du XVIIIe siècle, les arts de l’Islam, de l’Inde et de la Chine, les arts d’Afrique, et l’art contemporain, etc. 

L’universalisme - Un fondement historique et philosophique : le Louvre Abu Dhabi au regard du Louvre et des musées français

Inscrire le projet dans un esprit universaliste est un défi. L’universalisme est perçu aujourd’hui par beaucoup comme le corollaire idéologique de l’expansion économique de l’Occident. Dans ce contexte, Il faut ici redire que penser aujourd’hui un musée sous l’angle de l’universalisme c’est envisager la mission de cette institution à l’aune du dialogue, du respect et de la pédagogie de la diversité des expressions artistiques et culturelles. Universalisme ne veut pas dire unilatéralisme. La question du Louvre Abu Dhabi en tant que musée universel mérite donc d’être précisée. A l’évidence la réponse ne peut être que multiple et doit croiser les différentes perspectives rassemblées dans le cadre d’un projet sans précédent.

La première perspective de l’universalisme du Louvre Abu Dhabi, la plus évidente, tient à l’histoire des musées et particulièrement à celle du Louvre, dont la future institution ne peut que porter l’excellence. Le palais devenu Muséum National en 1793 est né de la pensée encyclopédique des Lumières et de la Révolution française.

Partage de biens artistiques, mission éducative, dimension nationale et rayonnement culturel, tous les fondements historiques du musée universel sont ainsi posés et à bien des égards se retrouvent aujourd’hui autour de la création du Louvre Abu Dhabi. Le Louvre agit ici comme modèle et comme référence, mais ceux-ci doivent être nécessairement adaptés à un contexte nouveau, pour répondre avec justesse au grand enjeu de l’accord du 6 mars 2007, et de répondre à la demande fondamental du transfert culturel entre la France et Abu Dhabi. L’enjeu de ce transfert est d’autant plus complexe et exaltant qu’il se conçoit au double regard de l’innovation et de la tradition historique et muséale. Le défi qu’il constitue pour le Louvre et les musées français leur offre de montrer leur capacité à inventer, ensemble, un musée du XXIe siècle.

Louvre Abu Dhabi : projet architectural

Louvre Abu Dhabi : projet architectural

© TDIC, AJN, Artefactory, Louvre Abu Dhabi

À l’image du projet architectural de Jean Nouvel qui invente un musée ville, une ville monde par une variation sur les formes de l’architecture arabe, l’universalisme du Louvre Abu Dhabi doit être l’occasion d’une véritable mixité culturelle. A cet égard, le premier universalisme du Louvre Abu Dhabi sera celui de ses collections. La réalité géographique, historique et culturelle d’Abu Dhabi est celle du passage entre l’Occident et l’Orient, entendus dans leur acception la plus large, auquel la demande des Émirats Arabes Unis envers la France a donné une nouvelle dimension qui a force de symbole. Comment dès lors ne pas souhaiter que ce geste de confiance et d’ouverture aux autres ne soit pas celui d’une ouverture à la diversité artistique du monde ? Parce que l’histoire du Louvre Abu Dhabi commence à peine à s’écrire, il nous est plus facile de déployer toutes les potentialités de cette richesse d’approche dès son ouverture.

Le songe de Jacob de Bartolomé Esteban Murillo (détail). Louvre Abu Dhabi : Collections

Le songe de Jacob de Bartolomé Esteban Murillo (détail). Louvre Abu Dhabi : Collections

© TDIC, Louvre Abu Dhabi

Ce postulat universaliste du Louvre, étroitement lié à son nom, invite à imaginer pour le Louvre Abu Dhabi un exercice de synthèse de cette longue construction muséale. Une synthèse entreprise dans les 6000 m2 de galeries permanentes et les 2000 m2 de surface d’expositions temporaires, où la mutualisation des collections publiques françaises, puis les collections propres du musée, rendront possible des rencontres inédites, autoriseront des développements muséographiques novateurs pour mieux s’adresser à la diversité de ses publics. Le choix des œuvres présentées, au regard de leur nombre assez réduit – 600 œuvres sont prévues à l’ouverture du musée, alliant prêts des collections françaises et acquisitions pour la collection propre du musée – constitue un enjeu essentiel. Elles devront en effet, permettre l’établissement d’un discours singulier et continu, tout en offrant aux visiteurs du musée le plaisir de la délectation esthétique que crée la rencontre avec la création artistique. A cet égard, la politique d’acquisition du Louvre Abou-Dabi, conduite par les conservateurs de l’Agence France-Muséums, en lien avec les grands départements patrimoniaux français, se doit d’être le reflet de cette large ouverture à la diversité artistique.

Inscrit par son nom et par sa création dans la communauté des grands musées internationaux, le Louvre Abu Dhabi est, naturellement, appelé à y appartenir pleinement et à y jouer un rôle majeur. Il constituera ainsi un pôle essentiel pour l’histoire de l’art et la recherche dans cette région du monde, offrant d’initier et de soutenir des programmes spécifiques dans les domaines de ses collections et de ses approches nouvelles.

Les enjeux du rôle éducatif du musée

Porté par la volonté de permettre un transfert culturel inédit entre la France et l’émirat d’Abu Dhabi, le Louvre Abu Dhabi jouera un rôle essentiel d’éducation. Ainsi, il sera fidèle aux missions éducatives du Louvre et des musées français, au cœur de la création de 1793, et toujours renouvelées. L’implication au sein du projet de l’Ecole du Louvre, actionnaire de l’Agence France-Muséums, comme de l’Institut national du patrimoine, offre de concevoir, dès aujourd’hui, des programmes de formation pour les futurs collaborateurs du musée, alliant enseignement théorique et stages pratiques au sein des musées français. Ces stages permettront d’établir des liens étroits et durables entre les professionnels français et leurs futurs collègues émiratis, créant ainsi les conditions d’un dialogue riche entre le Louvre Abu Dhabi et les musées français. L’ouverture à Abu Dhabi, dès novembre 2010, d’un master « Métiers des musées », associant pour la première fois l’Ecole du Louvre et l’Université Paris IV Sorbonne, souligne la force de cet engagement français. Les cours, dispensés par des universitaires et des professionnels des musées, en français, anglais et arabe, au sein des locaux de Paris Sorbonne Louvre Abu Dhabi, permettront aux étudiants, dont beaucoup sont originaires des Emirats, d’obtenir un diplôme délivré par les deux institutions, reconnu internationalement, offrant de poursuivre pour ceux qu’ils le souhaiteront vers des travaux de recherches.

Au-delà, le Louvre Abu Dhabi sera un lieu privilégié pour la découverte et la recherche en archéologie, en histoire de l’art, accueillant chercheurs et scientifiques. La transmission des savoirs, au cœur des missions du Louvre et des musées français, sera ainsi aussi un des rôles majeurs du futur musée.

La chance d’un projet culturel entre deux nations, une collaboration inédite pour les musées français

En se fondant sur un projet scientifique et culturel original, nourri par les valeurs muséales et culturelles symbolisées par le nom du Louvre, le projet du Louvre Abu Dhabi place ainsi les missions premières du musée – conserver, développer, exposer, expliquer- au cœur de sa création. C’est, là aussi, et sans doute au premier chef, une des grandes chances de ce projet qui offre de donner un nouvel élan aux professions muséales en soulignant leur dynamisme et leur créativité, d’autant plus forts, qu’ils sont nourris par l’exigence de la fidélité à une tradition insigne.

Informations pratiques

Adresse et téléphone :
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet




Autour de l'exposition :
Naissance d’un musée
Louvre Abu Dhabi

Exposition, Musique filmée, Conférences et Journée-débat, Musique du 2 mai 2014 au 21 juin 2014

Tous les évènements