Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Agrippa

Work Agrippa

Department of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities: Roman Art

Agrippa

© 2008 Musée du Louvre / Daniel Lebée et Carine

Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities
Roman Art

Author(s):
Lepetoukha C.

This stern face is a clearly a portrait of Agrippa, general and son-in-law of the emperor Augustus. The work - a sculpture of great quality - is a Roman copy of a lost original. Ancient texts inform us that several statues were erected in honor of Agrippa, and may have been the inspiration for this portrait. Of the various possibilities, the large bronze erected in the Roman Pantheon (circa 25 BC) seems the most likely.

A portrait of superb quality

The bust depicts a middle-aged man with his head turned to the left and his short hair combed forward. Signs of age are apparent in the soft modeling of the face, whose expression is one of great determination. The authority that emanates from the figure is particularly perceptible in the eyes, which are overshadowed by prominent eyebrows. There is no excessive pathos in this study, however, which is one of sober simplicity.

A member of Octavius Augustus's inner circle

This portrait was discovered in 1792 in a property in Gabies belonging to Prince Camille Borghese. It adorned the prince's villa in Rome, before being acquired by Napoleon in 1807 (with the rest of the Borghese collection).
The portrait was positively identified after comparison with effigies on coins: the energetic face with its somber expression is that of Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa (63-12 BC), friend and son-in-law of Augustus - and his most illustrious general. Agrippa was the major architect of the victories over Sextus Pompeius and Mark Anthony, which enabled Augustus to establish his authority. He was also a statesman and patron of the arts, who played a decisive role in the political life of Rome, undertaking the responsibilities of praetor, governor, consul and edile. He initiated an ambitious urban policy, which resulted in the renovation and construction of aqueducts (including the Pont du Gard in Gaul), public baths, porticos and sewers.

A Greek copy of a Roman original?

There are several existing examples of this type of portrait. The one in the Louvre is outstanding for its skillful modeling, which gives an extraordinarily lifelike sense of the subject's bone structure and fleshy features. This work has sometimes been interpreted as an original piece of work by a Greek artist active in Rome. In reality, however, it was a copy inspired by a Roman model. The rendering of the hair suggests that the original was in bronze; and ancient texts inform us that one of the most famous bronze statues of Agrippa was erected in the Pantheon, built under the direction of Agrippa and completed in 25 BC. This marble copy has been dated to circa 25-24 BC, although this cannot be definitely substantiated, since none of the bases of Agrippa's portraits have survived (inscriptions on the bases might have enabled us to identify the statues in question with their descriptions in the literary sources).

Bibliography

F. Johansen, "Ritratti marmorei e bronzei di Marco Vipsanio Agrippa", in Analecta Romana Ist. Danici, VI, Copenhague, 1971, pp. 26-27 fig. 9, p. 45 note n 48.
K. de Kersauson, Catalogue des portraits romains, I, Paris 1986, n 22, p. 54.
Denon, l'oeil de Napoléon, catalogue de l'exposition, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 20 oct. 1999-17 janv. 2000, n 209, p. 204.

Technical description

  • Agrippa

    C. 25-24 BC

    Provenance: Gabii (Italy)

  • Marble

    H. 46 cm

  • Former Borghese collection. Purchased in 1807

    Husband of Julia, daughter of Augustus (27 BC-AD 14)

    Inventaire MR 402 (n° usuel Ma 1208)

  • Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities

    Denon wing
    Ground floor
    Roman Art. Julio-Claudian period I
    Room 23

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Agrippa

Œuvre Agrippa

Département des Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines : Art romain

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Agrippa

© 2008 Musée du Louvre / Daniel Lebée et Carine

Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines
Art romain

Auteur(s) :
Charlotte Lepetoukha

On reconnaît dans ce visage empreint de rigueur un portrait d'Agrippa, général et gendre d'Octave-Auguste. Le buste, d'une grande qualité plastique, est une copie d'époque romaine d'un original aujourd'hui perdu. D'après les textes antiques, plusieurs statues ont été érigées en l'honneur d'Agrippa et peuvent donc être à l'origine de ce portrait. Parmi toutes ces possibilités, on retiendra l'hypothèse du grand bronze érigé au Panthéon, aux environs de 25 avant J.-C.

Un portrait de qualité

Le buste représente un homme d'âge mûr, la tête tournée vers la gauche. La chevelure est organisée en mèches courtes et plates ramenées vers l'avant. Le visage, dont le modelé très souple prend en compte les marques de l'âge, est animé d'une grande détermination. Cette autorité qui émane de la figure est particulièrement sensible dans le regard, sur lequel l'arcade sourcilière proéminente vient projeter une ombre. Le sentiment ne s'exprime toutefois pas au travers d'un pathétisme outré ; la réalisation reste en effet d'une grande sobriété.

Un proche d'Octave-Auguste

Ce portrait a été découvert en 1792 dans l'une des propriétés du prince Camille Borghèse à Gabies. Il a été exposé dans la villa du prince à Rome, avant d'être acquis par Napoléon en 1807, avec le reste de la collection Borghèse.L'identification de l'effigie a pu être déterminée avec certitude grâce à la comparaison avec les monnaies : ce visage énergique au regard sombre est celui de Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa (63-12 avant J.-C.), ami et gendre d'Auguste dont il fut aussi le général le plus illustre. Principal artisan des victoires contre Sextus Pompée et Marc Antoine, il a en effet permis d'asseoir le pouvoir du prince. Homme d'Etat et protecteur des arts, son rôle fut déterminant dans la vie politique de Rome puisqu'il assuma les charges de préteur, de gouverneur, de consul et d'édile. Il fut également à l'origine d'une politique urbaine d'envergure, qui vit la rénovation et la construction d'aqueducs (tel le pont du Gard en Gaule), de bains publics, de portiques, d'égouts.

Une copie grecque d'un original romain ?

On conserve plusieurs exemplaire de ce type de portrait. Celui du Louvre se distingue par la grande qualité de son modelé, qui rend sensible la présence des chairs sur la structure osseuse. Aussi a-t-on voulu voir dans ce portrait le travail d'un artiste grec travaillant à Rome, voire une oeuvre originale. En réalité, il s'agit bien d'une copie dérivant d'un modèle romain. Le traitement particulier de la chevelure laisse à penser que ce modèle original était un bronze. Or, si l'on se réfère aux textes antiques, l'une des plus fameuses statues en bronze d'Agrippa est celle érigée au Panthéon. L'édifice, construit sous la direction d'Agrippa, a été achevé en 25 avant J.-C. ; on situe cette copie en marbre quelques années après, aux environs de 25-24 avant J.-C. Cependant, le raisonnement demeure hypothétique : les portraits d'Agrippa ont été retrouvés sans leur base, si bien qu'il est impossible de les rattacher avec certitude aux mentions littéraires.

Bibliographie

F. Johansen, "Ritratti marmorei e bronzei di Marco Vipsanio Agrippa", in Analecta Romana Ist. Danici, VI, Copenhague, 1971, pp. 26-27 fig. 9, p. 45 note n 48.
K. de Kersauson, Catalogue des portraits romains, I, Paris 1986, n 22, p. 54.
Denon, l'oeil de Napoléon, catalogue de l'exposition, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 20 oct. 1999-17 janv. 2000, n 209, p. 204.

Cartel

  • Agrippa

    Vers 25 - 24 avant J.-C.

    Gabies

  • Marbre

    46 H

  • Ancienne Collection Borghèse. Achat, 1807 , 1807

    Époux de Julie fille d'Auguste (27 avant J.-C. - 14 après J.-C.)

    Inventaire MR 402 (n° usuel Ma 1208)

  • Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines

    Aile Denon
    Rez-de-chaussée
    Art romain. Epoque Julio-Claudienne I
    Salle 23

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet