Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Bastet

Work Bastet

Department of Egyptian Antiquities: The final Pharaonic dynasties and the Ptolemaic period (circa 1069 - 30 BC)

Bastet

© 2009 Musée du Louvre / Christian Décamps

Egyptian Antiquities
The final Pharaonic dynasties and the Ptolemaic period (circa 1069 - 30 BC)

Author(s):
Catherine BRIDONNEAU

This elegant bronze statuette, an image of the goddess Bastet, combines the body of a woman in a close-fitting dress with the delightful head of a little cat with pricked ears. She holds a sistrum, a lion-headed aegis, and a basket. This is one of the very many figurines that were made during the Late Period and placed by the faithful as ex-votos in the goddess’s temples.

A cat-headed woman

Bastet is standing with her legs together on a rather low base. She wears ankle bracelets and a figure-hugging, mid calf-length dress with a V-neck and sleeves that cover her shoulders; this style of dress was not Egyptian, and was only worn by this particular goddess. The motifs in the fabric, rendered by incised chevrons and latticework between vertical bands, are reminiscent of Syrian designs. The goddess wears a Wedjat eye around her neck; this was a symbol of wholeness and a protective device. In her right hand is an arched sistrum, the top part of which rests on her shoulder. Her left hand holds a lion-headed aegis to her breast, facing outward. A small cylindrical basket, decorated with incisions, hangs from her left arm.

The attributes of the goddess

The objects that the goddess holds in her hands indicate her nature. The arched sistrum ("sechechet" in Egyptian) was composed of a neck topped by a long arch to which three stems strung with small metal discs were attached. When it was shaken, this musical (and cult) instrument made a sound that was designed to soothe and charm the goddess.

The aegis was a protective adornment in the form of a collar-like necklace. This one, featuring the head of a lioness crowned by the sun disk and uraeus, is a reminder that Bastet was the daughter of the sun god. Both the sistrum and the aegis refer to the two opposite but complementary aspects of Bastet’s character—dangerous, irascible lioness and peaceful, protective cat. These accessories were indispensable to tame the angry goddess and transform her into a gentle cat.

Bastet

Bastet, who was worshipped in Egypt from the 2nd Dynasty onward, was one of the many lioness-goddesses in the Egyptian pantheon. The best known of such goddesses was Sekhmet, who was a daughter of the sun god, Eye of Re, and protectress of the god—but a dangerous and uncontrollable deity. Bastet did not acquire the appearance of a cat until the Third Intermediate Period, when she was worshipped as a goddess of joy and fertility and protectress of the home and children. The cult of the "Mistress of Bubastis" spread considerably from the 22nd Dynasty onward (when the Libyan kings chose the Delta city of Bubastis as their capital), reaching its zenith during the Ptolemaic Period. A great many statuettes, usually made of metal and representing Bastet in various forms (as a seated cat, a cat-headed woman, or a cat with its kittens), were produced near the temples themselves and sold to the faithful, who placed them in the goddess’s temples to commemorate a pilgrimage or Bastet festival, to give thanks, or to request a favor from her. When too many of such ex-votos accumulated, the priests buried them in ditches that were specially dug for this purpose, and this is where—fortunately for us—they were found by 19th-century excavators.

Bibliography

- ETIENNE Marc, Les dieux de l’Egypte, petit dictionnaire illustré, Collection Chercheurs d’art, Service culturel du musée du Louvre, 1998, p. 11.

Technical description

  • Bastet

    Late Period, 26th Dynasty, 664-332 BC

  • Solid cast, bronze

    H. 14.50 cm

  • N 3857

  • Egyptian Antiquities

    Sully wing
    Ground floor
    The gods and magic
    Room 18

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Bastet

Œuvre Bastet

Département des Antiquités égyptiennes : Dernières dynasties pharaoniques et époque ptolémaïque (vers 1069 - 30 av. J.-C.)

BASTET à tête de chatteStatuette

© 2009 Musée du Louvre / Christian Décamps

Antiquités égyptiennes
Dernières dynasties pharaoniques et époque ptolémaïque (vers 1069 - 30 av. J.-C.)

Auteur(s) :
Catherine BRIDONNEAU

Cette élégante statuette de bronze, combinant un corps de femme dont la robe suit les courbes et une ravissante petite tête de chat aux oreilles dressées, est une image de la déesse Bastet. Elle tient en main un sistre, une égide à tête de lionne et un panier. Nous sommes devant l’une de ces très nombreuses figurines, fabriquées à la Basse Epoque, que les fidèles déposaient en ex-voto dans les temples de la déesse.

Femme à tête de chat

Bastet est debout, sur un socle peu épais, les jambes jointes, le corps moulé dans une robe s’arrêtant à mi-mollet au-dessus de chevilles parées de bracelets. La robe décolletée en V au ras du cou et aux manches couvrant les épaules n’est pas d’un modèle égyptien et n’est portée que par cette déesse. Les motifs du tissu rendus par des incisions dessinant chevrons et croisillons entre des bandes verticales font penser à un vêtement d’origine syrienne. La déesse porte un œil "oudjat" autour du cou ; symbole de ce qui est complet, il a une valeur protectrice. Elle tient dans la main droite un sistre cintré dont la partie supérieure repose sur son épaule. Dans sa main gauche, ramenée contre sa poitrine, elle présente face aux spectateurs une égide à tête de lionne. A son bras pend un petit panier cylindrique décoré d’incisions.

Les attributs de la déesse

Les objets que la déesse tient en main nous renseignent sur sa nature. Le sistre cintré ("sechechet" en égyptien) est composé d’un manche surmonté d’un arceau allongé où sont fixées trois tiges sur lesquelles de petits disques de métal sont enfilés. Secoué, cet instrument de musique qui est aussi un instrument de culte émet un son qui a pour fonction de calmer et charmer la déesse.
L’égide est une sorte de collier large duquel sort, ici, une tête de lionne coiffée du disque solaire et de l’uraeus. Ce bijou protecteur nous rappelle que Bastet est fille du dieu solaire.
Sistre et égide font référence aux deux aspects opposés mais complémentaires du caractère de Bastet, à la fois lionne dangereuse et irascible et chatte paisible et protectrice. Ils sont les accessoires indispensables pour amadouer la déesse et la transformer en douce chatte.

Bastet

Honorée en Egypte depuis la 2e dynastie, elle est une des nombreuses déesses lionnes du panthéon égyptien dont Sekhmet est le plus connue, fille du dieu solaire et Œil de Rê, protectrice du dieu mais dangereuse et incontrôlable. Ce n’est qu’à partir de la Troisième Période Intermédiaire qu’elle prendra l’aspect d’une chatte, déesse de la joie, de la fécondité, protectrice du foyer et des enfants. Le culte de la « maîtresse de Bubastis » connaît un essor considérable à partir de la 22e dynastie quand les souverains d’origine libyenne choisissent cette ville du Delta pour capitale et atteindra son paroxysme à l’époque ptolémaïque. Des statuettes la représentant sous diverses formes (chatte assise, femme à tête de chat ou chatte en compagnie de ses petits), le plus souvent en métal, sont alors fabriquées en grande quantité près des temples mêmes. Elles sont vendues aux fidèles qui prennent l’habitude de les déposer dans ses temples pour commémorer un pélerinage, une participation aux fêtes de Bastet, remercier la déesse ou lui demander une faveur. Quand ces ex-voto deviennent trop nombreux, les prêtres les enterrent dans des fosses spécialement creusées à cet effet où les fouilleurs du XIXe siècle les ont retrouvés pour notre plus grand plaisir.

Bibliographie

- ETIENNE Marc, Les dieux de l’Egypte, petit dictionnaire illustré, Collection Chercheurs d’art, Service culturel du musée du Louvre, 1998, p. 11.

Cartel

  • BASTET à tête de chatteStatuette

    Basse Époque, 664 - 332 avant J.-C.

  • bronze

    H. : 14,50 cm.

  • N 3857

  • Antiquités égyptiennes

    Aile Sully
    Rez-de-chaussée
    Les dieux et la magie
    Salle 18
    Vitrine 1 : Petit dictionnaire des dieux

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet