Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Christ

Christ

© 2000 Musée du Louvre / Martine Beck-Coppola

Decorative Arts
Middle Ages

Author(s):
Barbier Muriel

The origin and scale of this Christ in enameled copper make it an important piece of Limoges work. It is very likely to have come from a cross that belonged to the Abbey of Grandmont (Haute-Vienne), an important client of the Limoges workshops. Made around 1220-30, this Christ, similar in style and technique to the figures of the apostles made for the high altar of the abbey, reveals the earliest Gothic influences on Limoges, in the first decades of the thirteenth century.

The Abbey of Grandmont

The Abbey of Grandmont, near Limoges, was founded by Etienne de Muret (d. 1124). The church, almost complete in 1166, received, at different periods, a large number of works in champlevé enamel on copper, and the abbey had a great influence on the development of "Limoges work" (opus lemovicense). Around 1190 a large altar was commissioned, whose decoration evoked the life of Etienne de Muret. The years around 1220-25 saw the building of the high altar with the twelve apostles. Even after the Revolution, Grandmont still possessed the "great cross of the altar of the hour of prime," decorated in Limoges enamel. This cross was described by the friar Pardoux de la Garde at the close of the sixteenth century, and then in 1790 by the abbot Legros, who noted that the cross was 2.70 meters high, with a crowned Christ.

A monumental Christ

The size of the Louvre Christ corresponds to the considerable height of the cross. The embossed figure has a strongly sculptural quality, which it shares with the Grandmont apostles, of which two are in the Musée du Petit Palais in Paris and another is in the Louvre. A shell of copper soldered to the reverse of the head of the Christ gives it the volume of a sculpture in the round. Besides the Christ, the cross seems to have had two other figures and an inscription. One of these figures is probably the so-called Deacon, slightly smaller than the Christ, at the church of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist at Les Billanges (Haute-Vienne). At the time of the Revolution, the copper casing of the cross was bought by a Limoges metal-founder called Coutaud.

A work characteristic of early Gothic art in the Limousin

The figure of Christ is formed by deep embossing of the copper. The body is supple in its modeling, slightly bent, and draped in a flowing loincloth. The face is composed, the eyes enlivened by little drops of enamel. The locks of the hair and beard have been brought out with fine engraved lines; the quality of the engraved detail is another feature this work has in common with the apostles of the Grandmont high altar. The face breaks with Romanesque tradition, showing greater interest in expression and human reality. The work was made at a time when the artists of Limoges were just beginning to produce fine, gently curving folds in drapery, and expressive faces, both grave and serene. These innovations reflect the impact on the Limoges workshops of the ideas of early Gothic art. The Louvre Christ is one of the most beautiful examples of early thirteenth-century art in Limoges.

Bibliography

Catalogue. Nouvelles acquisitions du département des Objets d'art 1995-2002, Paris, Editions de la Réunion des Musées nationaux, 2003, pp. 34-36.

Taburet-Delahaye Elisabeth, "Un Christ de l'abbaye de Grandmont, oeuvre de Limoges du XIIIe siècle", in Revue du Louvre, 2000, n 3, pp. 16-18.

Taburet-Delahaye Elisabeth, "Un Christ du début du XIIIe siècle et trois Apôtres de Grandmont", in L'Objet d'art de la Saison, n 15.

Technical description

  • Limoges (c. 1220-30)

    Christ

  • Repoussé copper, engraved, champlevé, enamelled, and gilded; cabochons and glass beads

    H. 35.60 cm; W. 25.80 cm

  • Gift of the Society of Friends of the Louvre, 2000 , 2000

    OA 11935

  • Decorative Arts

    Richelieu wing
    1st floor
    Suger
    Room 502

Practical information

The Louvre is now open. All visitors are required to wear a mask in the museum. All the information you need to know before visiting the museum is available on this page.

Opening hours:
The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesdays) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Closed on:
January 1, May 1, and December 25

We strongly advise booking a time slot in advance online

 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Christ

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Christ

© 2000 Musée du Louvre / Martine Beck-Coppola

Objets d'art
Moyen Age

Auteur(s) :
Muriel Barbier

Par ses dimensions et son origine, ce Christ en cuivre émaillé est une pièce majeure de "l'Oeuvre de Limoges". Il provient très probablement d'une croix de l'abbaye de Grandmont (Haute-Vienne), grand client des ateliers limousins. Ce Christ, réalisé vers 1220-1230, est par son style et sa technique proche des figures d'apôtres, réalisés pour le grand autel de la même abbaye, et révèle les premières tendances gothiques à Limoges dans les premières décennies du XIIIe siècle.

L'abbaye de Grandmont

L'abbaye de Grandmont, près de Limoges, a été fondée par Étienne de Muret (mort en 1124). L'église prieurale, dont la construction était pratiquement achevée en 1166, reçut, à différentes époques, plusieurs œuvres en émail champlevé sur cuivre. L'abbaye eut une grande influence sur le développement de "l'Œuvre de Limoges" (Opus Lemovicense). On commanda pour l'église, vers 1190, un grand autel évoquant la vie d'Étienne de Muret. Vers 1220-1225, prit place la réalisation de l'autel majeur avec le collège apostolique. Grandmont conservait encore après la Révolution la Grande Croix de l'Autel de Prime, ornée d'émaux de Limoges. Cette grande croix est décrite à la fin du XVIe siècle par le moine Pardoux de La Garde, puis en 1790 par l'abbé Legros qui note que cette croix portait en effet un Christ couronné et qu'elle mesurait 2,70 m.

Un Christ monumental

La taille du Christ  du Louvre correspond à la grande hauteur de la croix. Cette figure est repoussée avec une grande force plastique qui le rapproche des Apôtres de Grandmont dont deux sont conservés au musée du Petit Palais de Paris et un autre au Louvre. Une demi-coque de cuivre est soudée au revers de la tête du Christ qui lui donne le volume d'une ronde-bosse. Le Christ n'était pas la seule figure de cette croix qui était vraisemblablement ornée de deux autres figures puis d'une inscription. Une de ces figures étant probablement le Diacre des Billanges (Haute-Vienne, conservé dans l'église de la Nativité de Saint-Jean-Baptiste), légèrement plus petit que le Christ. Le revêtement en cuivre de cette croix a été acheté à la Révolution par Coutaud, un fondeur de Limoges.

Une oeuvre caractéristique du premier art gothique en Limousin

Le Christ  est obtenu grâce à un vigoureux travail du cuivre au repoussé qui permit de dégager la statuette de la plaque de cuivre. Le corps est souplement modelé, légèrement fléchi et drapé d'un perizonium fluide. Le visage est serein et les yeux sont éclairés d'une perle d'émail. Les mèches de la chevelure et la barbe sont rehaussées de fins traits gravés. La qualité des reprises à la gravure est d'ailleurs un autre point commun avec les Apôtres de l'autel majeur de Grandmont. Ce visage est en rupture avec les traditions romanes et révèle un plus grand intérêt pour la réalité humaine et pour l'expression. Cette œuvre a été réalisée dans la période où les artistes de Limoges adoptèrent des plis fins, souplement incurvés et des visages pleins à l'expression grave et sereine. Ces nouveautés marquent l'ouverture des ateliers limousins au courant du premier art gothique. Le Christ du Louvre fait partie des plus belles créations limousines du début du XIIIe siècle.

Bibliographie

- Nouvelles acquisitions du département des Objets d'art 1995-2002, Paris, Editions de la Réunion des Musées nationaux, 2003, p. 34-36.

- TABURET-DELAHAYE Elisabeth, Un Christ de l'abbaye de Grandmont, oeuvre de Limoges du XIIIe siècle, in Revue du Louvre, 2000, n 3, p. 16-18.

- TABURET-DELAHAYE Elisabeth, Un Christ du début du XIIIe siècle et trois Apôtres de Grandmont, in L'Objet d'art de la Saison, n 15.

Cartel

  • Limoges (vers 1220 - 1230)

    Christ

  • Cuivre repoussé, gravé, champlevé, émaillé et doré ; cabochons et perles de verre

    H. : 35,60 cm. ; L. : 25,80 cm.

  • Don de la Société des Amis du Louvre, 2000

    OA 11935

  • Objets d'art

    Aile Richelieu
    1er étage
    Suger
    Salle 2
    Vitrine 22

Informations pratiques

Adresse et téléphone :
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet