Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Commode

Work Commode

Department of Decorative Arts: 18th century: neoclassicism

Commode

© Musée du Louvre, dist. RMN / Thierry Ollivier

Decorative Arts
18th century: neoclassicism

Author(s):
Muriel Barbier

Louis Joseph de Bourbon, Prince de Condé (1736-1818), bought the Palais Bourbon in 1764 and entrusted its renovation to innovative architects. Among the items of furniture commissioned from cabinetmaker Jean-François Leleu was the commode in the Louvre, destined for the prince's bedroom. Delivered in 1772, its architectural character and bronze decoration make it typical of the "Greek" style in vogue in the 1760s.

Profile and bronze decoration typical of the "Greek" style

This commode has three front-opening drawers, the uppermost shallower than the other two, as is characteristic of "transitional" style and Louis XVI commodes. The extreme linearity of the design is relieved by cut-off, fluted corners topped with bronze acanthus leaves. Set on monumental lion's paw feet, which are a feature of Leleu's work, this very low commode is highlighted with a gilt bronze Greek fret frieze along the bottom and alternating scrolls and fleurons along the top. Like the lower drawers, the side panels are decorated with water leaf fillets. All these ornaments hark back to the Greco-Roman repertoire. The bronze drawer handles are set at the corners, a stratagem Leleu often resorted to on his commodes as a means of freeing up the marquetry areas.

Faultless marquetry

The marquetry on the side panels and the drawers uses a latticework pattern inset with rosettes. For the middle of the façade, Leleu opted for a marquetry basket of flowers decorated with ribbons. His mastery of marquetry rosettes was complete and he used them on a number of pieces, including a fall-front bureau in the Nissim de Camondo Museum, Paris, and a commode in the Wallace Collection, London. Superbly crafted, the flower and rosette marquetry is reminiscent of that on the table by Jean-François Oeben. Leleu had of course worked under Oeben and helped make his innovations known. The master-pupil influence could scarcely be clearer than it is here.

Leleu and the Prince de Condé

Throughout the period 1772-77, Louis Joseph de Bourbon, Prince de Condé, was a major client for Leleu, who provided the Palais-Royal with three other commodes similar to the one in the Louvre: a large one dating from 1772 and part of the Wallace Collection, London, and two small ones now at the Petit Trianon, Versailles. All three were made for the bedroom of the Duchess of Bourbon, the Prince de Condé's daughter-in-law. The patterns used on the Louvre commode-lion paw legs and Greek fret frieze-are also found on a Leleu fall-front bureau in the Wallace Collection.

Bibliography

Alcouffe Daniel, Dion-Tenenbaum Anne, Lefébure Amaury, Le Mobilier du musée du Louvre, tome 1, Dijon, Éditions Faton, Paris, 1993, pp. 198-201.

Technical description

  • Stamped by Jean-François LELEU (?, 1729 - Paris, 1807)

    Commode

    1772

    Paris

  • Oak frame; veneer of sycamore, rosewood and kingwood; polychrome wood marquetry; gilded bronze; Griotte Rouge marble

    H. 0.87 m; W. 1.24 m; D. 0.59 m

  • Provenance: bedchamber of the prince de Condé at the Bourbon palais
    Acquired in 1953 , 1953

    OA 9589

  • Decorative Arts

    Sully wing
    1st floor
    Puiforcat
    Room 49

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, May 8, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Additional information about the work

Trademark of Jean-François Leleu

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Commode

Commode

© Musée du Louvre, dist. RMN / Thierry Ollivier

Objets d'art
XVIIIe siècle : le néo-classicisme

Auteur(s) :
Muriel Barbier

Louis Joseph de Bourbon, prince de Condé (1736-1818), acheta le palais Bourbon en 1764 et confia le soin de son embellissement à des architectes novateurs. De 1772 à 1776, l'ébéniste Jean-François Leleu fut chargé de réaliser les meubles d'ébénisterie dont la commode conservée au Louvre. Elle fut livrée en 1772 et destinée à la chambre à coucher du prince. Par son aspect architectural et son décor de bronze, elle est caractéristique du style grec qui s'imposa dans le mobilier vers 1760.

Une forme et des bronzes typiques du style grec

Cette commode est dotée de trois tiroirs en façade, le tiroir supérieur étant plus étroit que les tiroirs inférieurs, formule propre aux commodes Transition et Louis XVI. La forme du meuble est très linéaire, mais cette rectitude est interrompue grâce aux angles à pans coupés cannelés surmontés de feuilles d'acanthe en bronze. Le meuble, très bas, est supporté par des pattes de lion monumentales récurrentes dans l'oeuvre de Leleu. Il est souligné par une frise de grecques en bronze doré en partie inférieure et par une frise où alternent postes et fleurons en partie supérieure. Les panneaux latéraux comme les tiroirs inférieurs sont soulignés par des filets de feuilles d'eau. Tous ces ornements évoquent le répertoire ornemental gréco-romain. Leleu a rejeté les poignées de bronze aux angles des tiroirs. C'est fréquent sur les commodes de cet ébéniste et cela permet de libérer l'espace marqueté.

La perfection du décor marqueté

Les panneaux latéraux et les tiroirs sont marquetés d'un motif de treillage dans lequel s'inscrivent des rosaces. Au milieu de la façade Leleu a adopté la marqueterie de fleurs et présente un panier de fleurs agrémenté de rubans. La marqueterie de rosaces était parfaitement maîtrisée par Leleu qui l'a répétée sur plusieurs meubles (un secrétaire à abattant du musée Nissim de Camondo de Paris, une commode de la Wallace Collection de Londres). D'une très grande qualité, la marqueterie de fleurs et de rosaces rappelle celle de la table de Jean-François Oeben. Or Jean-François Oeben fut le maître de Leleu, qui contribua à la diffusion du rayonnement de ses innovations. On comprend ainsi à quel point le premier a pu influencer le second.

Leleu et le prince de Condé

Louis Joseph de Bourbon, prince de Condé, fut de 1722 à 1777 un client considérable pour Leleu. Ce dernier livra pour le Palais-Royal trois autres commodes proches de celle du Louvre : une grande, datant de 1772 et conservée à la Wallace Collection de Londres, et deux petites conservées au Petit Trianon de Versailles. Toutes trois étaient destinées à la chambre à coucher de la duchesse de Bourbon, belle-fille du prince de Condé. Les motifs présents sur la commode du Louvre (pieds en forme de patte de lion et frise de grecques) se retrouvent sur un secrétaire en armoire de la Wallace Collection également dû à Leleu.

Bibliographie

Alcouffe Daniel, Dion-Tenenbaum Anne, Lefébure Amaury, Le Mobilier du musée du Louvre, tome 1, Dijon, Éditions Faton, Paris, 1993, pp. 198-201.

Cartel

  • Estampillé : Jean-François LELEU

    Commode

    1772

    Paris

  • Bâti de chêne ; placage de sycomore, de bois de rose et d'amarante ; marqueterie de bois polychromes ; bronze doré ; marbre griotte rouge

    H. : 0,87 m. ; L. : 1,24 m. ; Pr. : 0,59 m.

  • Provenance : chambre à coucher du prince de Condé au palais BourbonAcquis en 1953 , 1953

    OA 9589

  • Objets d'art

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet

Informations complémentaires

Estampillée