Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Eva Prima Pandora

Eva Prima Pandora

© 2000 RMN / René-Gabriel Ojéda / Thierry Le Mage

Paintings
French painting

Author(s):
Barbillon Cécile

Eve, guilty of original sin as related in the Book of Genesis, is here equated with Pandora who, in Greek mythology, spread all the evils that have afflicted mankind by curiously opening the box entrusted to her by the gods. When King Henri II entered Paris in 1549, Jean Cousin decorated a triumphal arch with an allegory of the city as 'The New Pandora dressed as a nymph'.

Eve and Pandora

This sensually imaginative representation of Eve, the first woman, offers an idealized female figure reclining against a dual backdrop: the untamed landscape on the right suggesting the meanders of the earthly paradise, and that on the left organized and dominated by man. Jean Cousin's inspiration here is clearly Italian: rigorous use of perspective, skilled organization of the pictorial space, bodily contours defined by subtle lighting from the left, the physical sensuality of the young woman and the exquisite treatment of the jewelry and accessories. The architecture and the skull, reminiscent of Mantegna in their symbolic sophistication, are evocations of the ephemerality of life and earthly beauty.

Eve or Pandora?

Who exactly is this mysterious, elongated female nude leaning so nonchalantly on a skull as her left hand seems to be closing an elaborately decorated vase? Her gaze and expression elude the viewer, so much does the fixity of the neo-Greek profile contrast with the fluid lines of the body.
The title, included in the picture over the figure's head and clearly indicating that its meaning extends beyond the ostensible subject, deepens the mystery: is this, in fact, Eve or Pandora - a character drawn from the Bible or from pagan mythology?

The source of all humanity's ills

Indulging in a favorite intellectual exercise of the Renaissance humanists, Cousin leads his spectators towards a comparison: are there not striking similarities between the first sinner of the Judaeo-Christian tradition and the first woman modeled by Hephaistos?
Both women disobeyed, and for the same culpable motive: curiosity. Both were the source of all humanity's ills: as the skull, symbol of all the Vanities indicates, the vase on which Pandora vainly places her hand has already released the plagues and disasters it should have held prisoner forever.
Little is known of the history of this work or of the circumstances behind its creation. The property of a Sens family originally from the same village as Jean Cousin, the painting was acquired by the Friends of the Louvre association and given to the museum in 1922.

Technical description

  • Jean Cousin the ElderSens, c. 1490 - Paris, c. 1560

    Eva Prima Pandora

    c. 1550

  • Oil on wood

    H. 0.97 m; W. 1.50 m

  • Gift of the Friends of the Louvre association, 1922

    R.F. 2373

  • Paintings

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Eva Prima Pandora

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Eva Prima Pandora

© 2000 RMN / René-Gabriel Ojéda / Thierry Le Mage

Peintures
Peinture française

Auteur(s) :
Cécile Barbillon

Ève, qui selon la Genèse commit le péché originel, est assimilée à Pandore qui, dans la mythologie grecque, répandit les maux parmi les hommes en ouvrant par curiosité le vase d'Épiméthée. Lors de l'entrée d'Henri II à Paris en 1549, Jean Cousin orna un arc triomphal d'une allégorie de Paris en "nouvelle Pandore vêtue en nymphe".

Ève et Pandore

Cette représentation imaginaire et sensuelle d'Ève, la première femme, se veut une vision idéale de la femme, posant devant un double paysage ; paysage sauvage et rappelant les errements du paradis terrestre à droite, organisé et dominé par l'homme à gauche. L'inspiration italienne de Jean Cousin est évidente : perspective rigoureuse dans la construction ; mise en place savante de l'espace pictural ; modelé du corps construit à partir d'un éclairage subtil venant de la gauche ; sensualité du corps de la jeune femme et raffinement dans le traitement des bijoux et des accessoires. L'utilisation symbolique de l'architecture, ou du crâne, évoque le caractère éphémère de la vie et de la beauté terrestre rappelant les symboles raffinés de Mantegna.

Ève ou Pandore ?

Qui est cette jeune femme, mystérieux nu féminin aux proportions allongées, nonchalamment accoudée sur un crâne, alors que sa main gauche semble fermer un vase richement décoré ? Son regard et son expression échappent au spectateur, tant la raideur du profil néo-grec contraste avec la douceur des formes du corps.
Le titre de l'oeuvre, que le peintre a figuré dans le tableau, au-dessus de la tête de la figure, montrant bien qu'il ne se rapporte qu'à elle, renforce encore le mystère : est-ce Ève ou bien Pandore, appartient-elle au monde de la Bible ou à celui de la mythologie païenne ?

À l'origine des malheurs de l'humanité

Selon un exercice intellectuel prisé par les humanistes de la Renaissance, Cousin conduit ceux qui contempleront son oeuvre sur le chemin d'une comparaison : n'y a-t-il pas de profondes similitudes entre la première pécheresse de la tradition judéo-chrétienne et la première femme modelée par Hephaïstos ?
Toutes deux désobéirent, et pour le même motif coupable : la curiosité. Toutes deux furent à l'origine de tous les malheurs de l'humanité. Ainsi, du vase, sur lequel Pandore pose en vain la main, se sont déjà échappés les fléaux et les désastres qui devaient à jamais y rester prisonniers, ce dont témoigne le crâne, emblème de toutes les Vanités.
Nous connaissons peu de choses quant aux circonstances de la réalisation de cette oeuvre et à son histoire. Demeurée dans une famille de Sens, originaire du même village que Jean Cousin, elle fut acquise par la société des Amis du Louvre et donnée au musée du Louvre en 1922.

Cartel

  • Jean COUSIN le Vieux (Sens, vers 1490 - Paris, vers 1560)

    Eva Prima Pandora

    Vers 1550

  • H. : 0,97 m. ; L. : 1,50 m.

  • Don Société des Amis du Louvre, 1922

    R.F. 2373

  • Peintures

    Aile Richelieu
    2e étage

Informations pratiques

Adresse et téléphone :
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet