Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809)

Work Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809)

Department of Paintings: Spanish painting

Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809)

© 2009 RMN / Stéphane Maréchalle

Paintings
Spanish painting

Author(s):
De Vergnette François

Goya's portrait of Ferdinand Guillemardet, France's ambassador to Spain from 1798 to 1800, mirrors the self-confidence of the young republic the sitter represented. The colors of France, which feature on the ambassador's scarf and cocked hat, allowed the artist to use a bright palette. In this painting, Goya the portraitist shows himself worthy of being Velázquez's sucessor.

The ambassador of a mighty republic

France's ambassador to Spain, Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809), is sitting in a relaxed pose, his body in profile and legs crossed. Turning his face towards the viewer, he looks at us with lively, intelligent eyes. The colors of France conspicuously stand out on the scarf tied around his waist as well as the cockade and plume on his cocked hat, lying on the table behind him. The figure embodies a powerful, self-confident republic. Talleyrand, the former bishop of Autun turned foreign minister, had appointed Ferdinand Guillemardet France's ambassador to Spain in 1798. Guillemardet also came from Autun, where he was a physician and mayor, and then elected to represent the town in the Convention. In 1800, he was recalled to France and became a prefect. But a tragic fate befell the ambassador: he went insane and died in 1809.

Goya's favorite work

The circumstances surrounding the commissioning of this portrait of a Frenchman by Goya can only be surmised. The ambassador was close to a minister, Urquijo, and a politician, Jovellanos, who were both enlightened Francophiles and the painter's patrons. They must have persuaded Ferdinand Guillemardet to have his portrait done by Goya, the court painter since 1788. This work was exhibited in July 1799 at the Academy of San Fernando before Guillemardet brought it back with him to France. His son, who, incidentally, was a close friend of Delacroix's, bequeathed it to the Louvre. Goya is said to have remarked that this portrait was the finest work he had ever done. Yet he painted many portraits between 1794 and 1808, including several masterpieces that revived the tradition founded by Velázquez, particularly The Family of Charles IV (Madrid, Prado). Goya was a religious and historical painter, as well as a decorator and a brilliant illustrator, especially in these years, when he made the etchings in the Caprices series.

Liveliness and technical brilliance

This portrait is outstanding because of the sense of life it radiates. The sitter's pose seems natural but is actually very calculated. It contrasts sharply with the simpler, stiffer poses Goya's models usually take (The Countess del Carpio, Louvre). The painter also demonstrates psychological depth in this work. He used a bright palette set off by transparent black tones. That, and the brilliant technique, make him the worthy heir of Velázquez.

Bibliography

Augé Jean-Louis, Goya. Un regard libre, catalogue d'exposition, Lille, Palais des Beaux-Arts, Philadelphie, The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, Philadelphie, The Philadelphia Museum of Art, 1998, pp. 185-186.Baticle Jeanine, in Écoles espagnole et portugaise, catalogue du département des peintures du musée du Louvre, Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 2002, pp. 289-290.

Technical description

  • Francisco de GOYA (Y LUCIENTES) (Fuendetodos (Aragon), 1746 - Bordeaux, 1828)

    Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809)

  • H. 1.86 m; W. 1.24 m

  • Bequest of Louis Guillemardet, son of the model, 1865

    M.I. 697

  • Paintings

    Denon wing
    1st floor
    Murillo
    Room 26

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809)

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765 - 1809)

© 2009 RMN / Stéphane Maréchalle

Peintures
Peinture espagnole

Auteur(s) :
François de Vergnette

L'ambassadeur de France en Espagne entre 1798 et 1800, Ferdinand Guillemardet, a été portraituré par Goya plein d'assurance, à l'image de la jeune république qu'il représentait. Les couleurs de la France que l'on retrouve dans l'écharpe de l'ambassadeur et sur son bicorne ont permis au peintre de se servir d'une palette brillante. Goya portraitiste s'affirme ici comme le successeur de Velásquez.

L'ambassadeur d'une république puissante

L'ambassadeur de France en Espagne, Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765-1809), est assis, le corps de profil, les jambes croisées, dans une attitude décontractée. Le visage de face, il nous regarde avec des yeux vifs et intelligents. Les couleurs de la France s'affirment avec ostentation dans l'écharpe nouée autour de sa taille ainsi que sur la cocarde et le plumet de son chapeau bicorne posé sur la table derrière lui. Le personnage incarne une République puissante et sûre d'elle-même. Ferdinand Guillemardet avait été nommé ambassadeur de France en Espagne en 1798 grâce à Talleyrand, ministre des Relations extérieures et ancien évêque d'Autun. Guillemardet était en effet originaire de cette ville où il avait été médecin, maire puis élu député pour la représenter à la Convention. Après son rappel d'Espagne en France en 1800, il devint préfet. Mais cet ambassadeur eut un destin tragique puisqu'il mourut fou en 1809.

L'oeuvre préférée de Goya

On a pu seulement émettre des hypothèses sur les circonstances de la commande de ce portrait d'un Français par Goya. L'ambassadeur était lié avec un ministre, Urquijo, et un homme politique, Jovellanos, qui étaient francophiles, éclairés et qui protégeaient le peintre. Ils auraient conseillé à Ferdinand Guillemardet de se faire portraiturer par le maître, peintre de la chambre du roi depuis 1788. Cette oeuvre fut exposée en juillet 1799 à l'académie San Fernando, puis le modèle le rapporta en France. C'est son fils, par ailleurs grand ami de Delacroix, qui le donna au musée du Louvre. Goya aurait affirmé qu'il n'avait jamais rien fait de mieux que ce portrait. Pourtant son oeuvre de portraitiste fut très féconde entre 1794 et 1808 et compte de nombreux chefs-d'oeuvre qui renouvellent la tradition velásquezienne, notamment La Famille de Charles IV (Madrid, musée du Prado). Goya fut aussi un peintre religieux, un peintre d'histoire, un décorateur et un illustrateur de génie, en particulier dans ces années où il réalisa les dessins des Caprices.

Un métier brillant et une impression de vie

Ce portrait est exceptionnel par l'impression de vie qui s'en dégage. L'attitude du modèle semble naturelle mais est en fait très calculée. Elle est très différente des attitudes plus simples et plus raides que Goya donne d'habitude à ses modèles (La Comtesse del Carpio, musée du Louvre). Le peintre fait également preuve de profondeur psychologique. Il use d'une palette brillante que mettent en valeur des noirs transparents. Comme dans son choix d'une facture pleine de brio, il se montre en cela l'héritier de Velásquez.

Bibliographie

- AUGE Jean-Louis, Goya. Un regard libre, catalogue d'exposition, Lille, Palais des Beaux-Arts, Philadelphie, The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, Philadelphie, The Philadelphia Museum of Art, 1998, pp. 185-186.

- BATICLE Jeanine, in Écoles espagnole et portugaise, catalogue du département des peintures du musée du Louvre, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, Paris, 2002, pp. 289-290.

Cartel

  • Francisco José de GOYA Y LUCIENTES (Fuendetodos (Saragosse), 1746 - Bordeaux, 1828)

    Ferdinand Guillemardet (1765 - 1809)

  • H. : 1,86 m. ; L. : 1,24 m.

  • Legs Louis Guillemardet, fils du modèle, 1865

    M.I. 697

  • Peintures

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet