Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

Work Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

Department of Paintings: French painting

Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

© 2004 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

Paintings
French painting

Author(s):
Surname FirstName1, Surname2 FirstName2

This young woman, whose plain hairstyle and dress are typical of the Revolutionary period, was the wife of Charles-Louis Trudaine, who belonged to the liberal "haute bourgeoisie". The canvas shows areas of vigorous scumbling, particularly in the red background. The unfinished state of the canvas, which present-day viewers find attractive, is due to the quarrel between Trudaine and David over the Terror.

The discreet charm of a young woman

A refined young woman is sitting with her arms folded, her body in profile, and her face turned toward us. She has a long nose and large, lively eyes. She is wearing a dark dress with a blue belt, and a white fichu over the shoulders; together with the red background, these make up the colors of the Republican cockade. Her loose, unpowdered hair is quite natural, and there is a simple, unaffected charm about her person. The fact that the canvas is unfinished is attractive to contemporary eyes.

A liberal family

This is probably a portrait of Louise Micault de Courbeton (1769-1802), the wife of Charles-Louis Trudaine, a friend of the artist (and not of Madame Chalgrin, the daughter of the painter Joseph Vernet, as was long believed). It is thought to have been commissioned in 1791 or 1792 by Charles-Louis Trudaine. Before the revolution, David had painted The Death of Socrates (Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York), for the brother of Charles-Louis, Charles-Michel. The Trudaine family belonged to the liberal "haute bourgeoisie", which was initially favorable to the Revolution. The unfinished state of the portrait is probably linked to political events. The Trudaines quarrelled with David because of his support for the Terror. Furthermore, the two brothers went to the scaffold soon after this. The painting demonstrates David's talent as a portraitist, though he was better known as a history painter and the author of The Oath of the Horatii (Louvre), a manifesto of neoclassicism.

Davidian scumbling

The framing creates a sense of intimacy between sitter and viewer. David displays great formal economy. Space is suggested discreetly, and the slender silhouette stands out against a neutral background given immediacy by the vibrancy of the scumbling -- a characteristic of David's later portraits -- and by its redness. The unfinished work was painted without thickness. The scumbling is less apparent in the clothes than in the background, and the pigment is denser in the face. The portrait differs from the majority of those David made before the Revolution, which were meticulously painted, and looks ahead to his portrait of Madame Récamier (Louvre).

Bibliography

Sous la dir. de Schnapper Antoine et Sérullaz Arlette, Jacques-Louis David 1748-1825, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1989, p. 280-281 (Antoine Schnapper).

Technical description

  • Jacques-Louis DAVID (Paris, 1748 - Bruxelles, 1825)

    Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

    1791 - 1792

  • H. : 1,30 m. ; L. : 0,98 m.

  • Legs Horace Paul Delaroche, 1890

    R.F. 670

  • Paintings

    Sully wing
    2nd floor
    David and his students
    Room 54

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

Œuvre Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

Département des Peintures : Peinture française

Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

© 2004 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

Peintures
Peinture française

Auteur(s) :
François de Vergnette

Cette jeune femme à la tenue et à la coiffure simples, typiques des années révolutionnaires, était l'épouse de Charles-Louis Trudaine, qui appartenait à la haute bourgeoisie libérale. La toile laisse apparaître des touches vibrantes posées en frottis, notamment dans le fond de couleur rouge. Cet état d'inachèvement de la toile, qui séduit le spectateur actuellement, est dû à la brouille entre Trudaine et David au sujet de la Terreur.

Le charme discret d'une jeune femme

Une jeune femme fine est assise, les bras croisés, le corps de profil, le visage tourné vers nous. Elle a un long nez et de grands yeux au regard vif. Elle porte une robe sombre à la ceinture bleue, un fichu blanc sur les épaules, qui avec le fond rouge donnent les couleurs de la cocarde républicaine. Sa coiffure avec des mèches et sans poudre n'est pas recherchée. Un charme simple se dégage de cette figure. L'inachèvement de la toile séduit un regard contemporain.

Une famille libérale

Ce portrait est vraisemblablement celui de Louise Micault de Courbeton (1769-1802), femme de Charles-Louis Trudaine, ami de l'artiste, et non celui de Mme Chalgrin, fille du peintre Joseph Vernet, comme on l'a longtemps pensé. Il aurait été commandé en 1791 ou en 1792 par Charles-Louis Trudaine. Avant la Révolution, David avait peint La Mort de Socrate (New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art), pour le frère de Charles-Louis, Charles-Michel. Les Trudaine appartenaient à la haute bourgeoisie libérale favorable, au début, à la Révolution. L'inachèvement du portrait est vraisemblablement lié aux événements politiques. Les Trudaine se brouillèrent avec David en raison du soutien de ce dernier à la Terreur. Les deux frères montèrent d'ailleurs peu après sur l'échafaud. Cette oeuvre témoigne du talent de portraitiste de David, plus connu comme peintre d'histoire et auteur du Serment des Horaces (Louvre), manifeste du néoclassicisme.

Le frottis davidien

Une intimité est créée entre le modèle et le spectateur par le cadrage. David fait preuve d'une grande économie de moyens. L'espace est discrètement indiqué. La fine silhouette se détache sur un fond neutre rendu très présent par la touche vibrante posée en frottis - caractéristique des portraits ultérieurs de David - et sa couleur rouge. L'oeuvre inachevée est peinte sans épaisseur. Le frottis est moins apparent dans les vêtements que dans le fond. La matière picturale est plus dense dans le visage. Ce portrait se différencie de la plupart de ceux de David antérieurs à la Révolution, qui étaient peints avec minutie. Il annonce celui de Madame Récamier (Louvre).

Bibliographie

- SCHNAPPER Antoine et SERULLAZ Arlette (dir.), Jacques-Louis David 1748-1825, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1989, p. 280-281 (Antoine Schnapper).

Cartel

  • Jacques-Louis DAVID (Paris, 1748 - Bruxelles, 1825)

    Madame Charles-Louis Trudaine

    1791 - 1792

  • H. : 1,30 m. ; L. : 0,98 m.

  • Legs Horace Paul Delaroche, 1890

    R.F. 670

  • Peintures

    Aile Sully
    2e étage
    David et ses élèves
    Salle 54

Informations pratiques

Adresse et téléphone :
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet