Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Madame du Barry (née Marie-Jeanne Bécu) (1743-1793)

Work Madame du Barry (née Marie-Jeanne Bécu) (1743-1793)

Department of Sculptures: France, 17th and 18th centuries

Jeanne Bécu, Comtesse Du Barry (1743-1793)

© Musée du Louvre/P. Philibert

Sculptures
France, 17th and 18th centuries

Author(s):
Montalbetti Valérie

Augustin Pajou, first sculptor to the king, executed this voluptuous portrait of Louis XV's favorite for whom the king built the Château de Louveciennes and who was guillotined during the Revolution. The masterly working of the marble enhances the beauty of the subject, whose features the artist has idealized without seeking to express her psychology. This bust brought Pajou immediate fame.

Madame du Barry, the sculpture and last portrait

Jeanne Bécu, who was of modest origins, met Louis XV in 1768 and became his favorite (acquiring the title of "comtesse" or countess after their hasty marriage). The king built for her the Château de Louveciennes, to which she retired on the sovereign's death in 1774. She was arrested and executed during the Revolution in 1793. The countess had an undeniable taste for sculpture and commissioned a set of works from the best artists of the time. Augustin Pajou became her favorite artist. From 1770 to 1773, he made five busts of her, significantly marked by the changes in her hairstyles. In one of the busts, she asked to be depicted with her hair dressed in the style of Falconet's Bather (a sculpture she owned, Louvre), but she was disappointed with the result and had the work destroyed.
The last of these busts was the life-sized marble portrait now kept in the Louvre, which triumphed at the Salon of 1773. The harmonious proportions, fluid lines and masterly working of the marble give the work great sensuality. The head is turned slightly to the left, drawing attention to the hairstyle. The hair is drawn up on top of the head in tiara style, exposing a smooth, high forehead, and then falls away in curls. These are carefully arranged above the right shoulder and undulate toward the left shoulder, ending at the top of the left breast in a superb spiral ringlet. The sculpture thus invites the spectator to move around the statue to follow the movement of the hair. The flowing fabric of the bodice reveals rather than conceals the handsome curves of the king's favorite, baring the top of her left breast.

Emergence of a new taste

The work was executed at a time when a new taste in sculpture was emerging, which favored a return to naturalism and the values of Antiquity. The young woman is not depicted wearing contemporary clothing, but a "Greek-style" tunic, with light fabric secured by a strap across the shoulder in the ancient Greek fashion, albeit devoid of archaeological accuracy. The style of the drapery is more subdued, although it retains some of the gaiety of rocaille art (the creases in the fabric, the movement of the folds, the play of the material over the strap). The impassive, proud bearing of the king's favorite gives her the serene nobility of an ancient goddess. Unlike his contemporary and rival Houdon, Pajou did not seek to render the psychology of the figure, but idealized it so as to imbue it with immanent beauty.

The fame of the sculptor and the work

This bust established Pajou's renown as a portraitist of women. The allowance he received from the king was raised and he was granted a workshop at the Louvre. The countess ensured his work was shown in public and asked the sculptor to provide a plaster cast for Jean-Baptiste Locré's new German porcelain factory so that biscuit porcelain reproductions could be made. She presented King Gustav III of Sweden with a marble reproduction. The reputation of the bust remains intact to this day. A reproduction of it featured in Ernst Lubitsch's movie Bluebeard's Eighth Wife.

Bibliography

Stein Henri, Augustin Pajou, Paris, 1912, p. 116-134.
Bresc-Bautier Geneviève, Sculpture française XVIIIe siècle (École du Louvre, Notices d'histoire de l'art, n 3), Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1980, n 46.
Gaborit Jean-René, "Le goût de Madame du Barry pour la sculpture", in Madame du Barry. De Versailles à Louveciennes, Marly-le-Roy, Paris, 1992, p. 121-129.
Draper James D. et Scherf Guilhem, Pajou, sculpteur du roi, 1730-1809, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1997, p. 237-246.

Technical description

  • Augustin PAJOU (Paris, 1730 - Paris, 1809)

    Jeanne Bécu, Comtesse Du Barry (1743-1793)

    1773

  • Marble

    H. 0.56 m; W. 0.48 m; D. 0.26 m

  • 1793

    M.R. 2651

  • Sculptures

    Richelieu wing
    Ground floor
    Caffieri
    Room 26
    Display case 1

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, May 8, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets


Additional information about the work

On the edge at the back: PORTRAIT DE MADAME LA CONTESSE (sic)/DVBARY (sic) In the center: PAR/PAJOU. SECVL (sic)/DV ROY/E PROFESSEUR/DE SON ACAD. DE/PINT (sic) E SCVL./1773

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Madame du Barry (née Marie-Jeanne Bécu) (1743-1793)

Œuvre Madame du Barry (née Marie-Jeanne Bécu) (1743-1793)

Département des Sculptures : France, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles

Jeanne Bécu, comtesse Du Barry (1743 - 1793)

© Musée du Louvre/P. Philibert

Sculptures
France, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles

Auteur(s) :
Montalbetti Valérie

Pajou, premier sculpteur du roi, réalise un portrait voluptueux de la favorite de Louis XV, pour laquelle le souverain fit construire le château de Louveciennes et qui mourut sur l'échafaud. Le travail virtuose du marbre met en valeur la beauté du modèle, dont il idéalise les traits sans chercher à exprimer sa psychologie. Ce buste lui valut une gloire immédiate.

Madame du Barry, la sculpture et son dernier portrait

De petite extraction, Jeanne Bécu rencontra Louis XV en 1768 et en devint la favorite (après avoir acquis le titre de comtesse par un mariage précipité). Il lui fit construire le château de Louveciennes, où elle se retira à la mort du roi en 1774. Elle fut arrêtée et exécutée pendant la Révolution en 1793. Ayant un goût indéniable pour la sculpture, elle commanda un ensemble cohérent d'oeuvres aux meilleurs créateurs de son temps. Augustin Pajou devint son artiste préféré. De 1770 à 1773, il réalisa cinq bustes d'elle, dans lesquels les modifications de coiffure jouent une grande part. Dans l'un d'eux, elle demanda à être coiffée dans le goût de La Baigneuse de Falconet (sculpture qu'elle possédait, Louvre), mais, déçue du résultat, elle le fit détruire.
Le dernier de ces bustes est le portrait en marbre du Louvre, de grandeur nature, qui triompha au Salon de 1773. L'harmonie des proportions, la souplesse des lignes, le travail virtuose du marbre lui confèrent une véritable sensualité. La tête légèrement tournée vers la gauche permet d'admirer la coiffure. Les cheveux retenus sur le haut de la tête forment comme un diadème et dégagent un front haut et lisse. Puis ils se muent en boucles, savamment agencées au-dessus de l'épaule droite, tandis que la masse de la chevelure ondoie vers l'épaule gauche, s'achevant à la naissance de la gorge dans une superbe boucle spiralée. La sculpture incite ainsi à en faire le tour pour suivre le mouvement de la chevelure. Une étoffe fluide dévoile la beauté des formes de la favorite plus qu'elle ne les couvre, dénudant la naissance du sein gauche.

L'aube d'un goût nouveau

L'oeuvre se situe à l'aube d'un goût nouveau dans la sculpture, qui prône le retour à la nature et à l'antique. La jeune femme n'est pas vêtue d'habits contemporains mais d'une tunique "à la grecque", légère étoffe retenue par un ruban en bandoulière à la manière antique, bien que dénuée de fidélité archéologique. Le drapé s'assagit, même s'il garde quelque chose des enjouements de l'art rocaille (froissement de l'étoffe, mouvement des plis, jeu du tissu sur la lanière). L'attitude impassible et fière donne à la favorite la noble sérénité d'une déesse antique. Contrairement à son contemporain et rival Houdon, Pajou ne cherche pas à rendre la psychologie du personnage mais l'idéalise pour lui conférer une immanente beauté.

Gloire du sculpteur et de l'oeuvre

Ce buste établit la célébrité de Pajou comme portraitiste féminin. La pension qu'il percevait du roi fut augmentée et il obtint un atelier au Louvre. La comtesse assura la diffusion de l'oeuvre, demandant au sculpteur de fournir un plâtre à la nouvelle fabrique de porcelaine allemande de Jean-Baptiste Locré, pour en tirer des répliques en biscuit. Elle offrit une réplique en marbre au roi de Suède Gustave III. La réputation du buste demeure aujourd'hui intacte. On en aperçoit par exemple une reproduction dans le film d'Ernst Lubitsch, La Huitième Femme de Barbe-Bleue.

Bibliographie

- STEIN Henri, Augustin Pajou, Paris, 1912, p. 116-134.

- BRESC-BAUTIER Geneviève, Sculpture française XVIIIe siècle (École du Louvre, Notices d'histoire de l'art, n 3), Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1980, n 46.

- GABORIT Jean-René, "Le goût de Madame du Barry pour la sculpture", in Madame du Barry. De Versailles à Louveciennes, Marly-le-Roy, Paris, 1992, p. 121-129.

- DRAPER James D. et SCHERF Guilhem, Pajou, sculpteur du roi, 1730-1809, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1997, p. 237-246.

Cartel

  • Augustin PAJOU (Paris, 1730 - Paris, 1809)

    Jeanne Bécu, comtesse Du Barry (1743 - 1793)

    1773

  • Marbre

    H. : 0,56 m. ; L. : 0,48 m. ; Pr. : 0,26 m.

  • Saisie révolutionnaire à Louveciennes, 1793

    M.R. 2651

  • Sculptures

    Aile Richelieu
    Rez-de-chaussée
    Caffieri
    Salle 26
    Vitrine 1

Informations pratiques

Adresse et téléphone :
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet


Informations complémentaires

Sur la tranche au revers : PORTRAIT DE MADAME LA CONTESSE (sic)/ DVBARY (sic) - Au centre : PAR/PAJOU. SECVL (sic)/DV ROY/E PROFESSEUR/DE SON ACAD. DE/PINT (sic) E SCVL./1773