Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690-1734)

Work Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690-1734)

Department of Sculptures: France, 17th and 18th centuries

Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690-1734)

© R.M.N./R.G. Ojeda

Sculptures
France, 17th and 18th centuries

Author(s):
Montalbetti Valérie

At the age of twenty-six, Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne produced this dashing portrait of his friend, the painter Noël-Nicolas Coypel. The malleability of the clay perfectly suited the impetuous temperament of the sculptor, who produced lively, expressive portraits well before Houdon. He became one of the greatest portraitists of his century and Louis XV's favorite in this field.

The model and the sculptor

Admitted to the Academy in 1720, Noël-Nicolas Coypel belonged to a dynasty of painters. But he was far from attaining the glory enjoyed by his half-brother Antoine Coypel (twenty-nine years his elder) or his nephew Charles-Antoine Coypel, who were both directors of the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture. He is famous for his mythological compositions, including The Rape of Europa in 1727 (Philadelphia, Museum of Art). The Louvre houses his Venus, Bacchus, and Cupid. Coypel did not court favor, and suffered hardship, dying at the age of forty-four.
Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne came from a dynasty of sculptors. He won the Academy's Prix de Rome but stayed to help his blind father instead of taking up his prize in Rome. His bust of Coypel, executed in 1730 when he was twenty-six, was not a commission but a mark of the friendship between the two artists. At the time, they were working together on the decoration of the Chapel of the Virgin in the church of Saint-Sauveur in Paris (now destroyed), in a surprisingly illusionist and baroque style.

A spirited work

The bust is a youthful work, brilliant and spirited. The head is boldly turned to the side, a fold of cloth is blithely tossed over the right shoulder and rolled around the bust to the back where it falls on the pedestal on the other side. The cloth is held by a gold chain over the naked neck and chest. The wig is full of movement, too, and the freely treated tangle of curls is tied with a bow. The pose and the lifted chin express rather theatrical pride, which is belied by an evasive, slightly hooded gaze, with a melancholy tinge. Well before Houdon, Lemoyne understood the importance of the eyes in giving the portrait life and expression: he has outlined the irises and hollowed out the pupils. The malleability of the clay has enabled him to catch the mobility of the flesh and infuse the portrait with all his youthful energy.

Busts of artists

The representation of an artist usually demands a slightly neglected air, often shown by an unbuttoned shirt. The Louvre has many examples of such artistic casualness: the bust of Pierre Mignard by his friend Desjardins in the late 17th century, the portrait of Augustin Pajou by his pupil Roland in 1797, the self-portraits of Coysevox and Pigalle, and Pajou's bust of the engraver Pierre-François Basan. But the bust of Coypel is particularly spontaneous and vivacious. Lemoyne himself settled down in later years, although he did not lose his verve as his portrait of Réamur demonstrates.
Lemoyne was also skilled in rendering the majesty and pomp of the royal family and he became Louis XV's favourite portraitist. He trained a generation of brilliant sculptors, including Pigalle, Falconet, Caffiéri, and Pajou.

Bibliography

Paul Vitry, "Quelques bustes du XVIIIe siècle récemment entrés au musée du Louvre", Les Arts, n 117, septembre 1911, pp. 2-6.
Louis Réau, Une dynastie de sculpteurs au XVIIIe siècle : les Lemoyne, Paris, 1927, pp. 106-108 et p. 151.

Technical description

  • Jean-Baptiste II LEMOYNE (Paris, 1704 - Paris, 1778)

    Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690-1734)

    1730

  • Terracotta

    H. 0.65 m; W. 0.36 m; D. 0.43 m

  • Acquired in 1910

    R.F. 1501

  • Sculptures

    Richelieu wing
    Ground floor
    Bouchardon
    Room 23
    Display case 2

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690 - 1734)

Œuvre Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690 - 1734)

Département des Sculptures : France, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles

Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690 - 1734)

© R.M.N./R.G. Ojeda

Sculptures
France, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles

Auteur(s) :
Montalbetti Valérie

Âgé de 26 ans, Jean-Baptiste II Lemoyne réalise le portrait plein de fougue et de brio de son ami, le peintre Noël-Nicolas Coypel. Le caractère malléable de la terre seconde parfaitement le tempérament impétueux du sculpteur qui, bien avant Houdon, imprime vie et expression au portrait. Il deviendra un des plus grands portraitistes de son siècle et le préféré du roi Louis XV.

Le modèle et le sculpteur

Académicien en 1720, Noël-Nicolas Coypel appartient à une dynastie de peintres. Mais il est loin d'obtenir le même succès que son demi-frère Antoine Coypel (de vingt-neuf ans son aîné) ou son neveu Charles-Antoine Coypel, qui furent tous deux directeurs de l'Académie royale de peinture et de sculpture. Il est célèbre pour ses compositions mythologiques, dont L'Enlèvement d'Europe en 1727 (Philadelphie, Museum of Art). Le Louvre conserve Vénus, Bacchus et l'Amour. Peu courtisan, il connut la gêne et mourut jeune, à quarante-quatre ans.
Jean-Baptiste II Lemoyne est, quant à lui, issu d'une dynastie de sculpteurs. Il obtient le premier prix de l'Académie, mais renonce au voyage à Rome pour aider son père devenu aveugle. Son buste de Coypel, exécuté en 1730 (il a vingt-six ans), n'est pas une commande mais un témoignage de l'amitié qui unissait les deux artistes. À cette époque, les deux hommes collaborent à la décoration de la chapelle de la Vierge dans l'église Saint-Sauveur à Paris (détruite), dont le caractère illusionniste et baroque surprit.

Une oeuvre pleine de fougue

Le buste est une oeuvre de jeunesse, brillante et pleine de fougue. La tête est hardiment rejetée sur le côté, un drapé est jeté avec élan sur l'épaule droite et s'enroule autour du buste à l'arrière pour retomber sur le piédouche de l'autre côté. Sur le cou et la poitrine nus, l'étoffe est retenue par une chaîne d'orfèvrerie. La perruque aussi est pleine de mouvement, les masses de boucles librement traitées sont retenues par un noeud. La pose et le menton relevé expriment une fierté un peu théâtrale, que dément toutefois le regard évasif, un peu voilé, comme mélancolique. Bien avant Houdon, Lemoyne a compris l'importance des yeux pour donner vie et expression au portrait : il souligne l'iris d'un trait, et creuse profondément la pupille. Le caractère malléable de la terre lui permet de traduire la mobilité des chairs et d'imprimer son énergie juvénile à l'oeuvre.

Les bustes d'artiste

La représentation de l'artiste exige en général un certain négligé créateur, qui se traduit souvent par la chemise ouverte sur la poitrine. Le Louvre en possède de nombreux exemples, du buste de Pierre Mignard par son ami Desjardins à la fin du XVIIe siècle, jusqu'au portrait d'Augustin Pajou par son élève Roland en 1797, en passant par l'Autoportrait de Coysevox ou celui de Pigalle, ou le Pierre-François Basan, Graveur de Pajou... Mais le caractère enlevé, spontané et plein de vitalité du buste de Coypel est exceptionnel. Lemoyne lui-même s'assagira par la suite, sans perdre sa verve comme le prouve son portrait de Réaumur.
Lemoyne sait aussi rendre la majesté et l'apparat de la famille royale et il deviendra le portraitiste préféré de Louis XV. Il sera le maître d'une génération de brillants sculpteurs, Pigalle, Falconet, Caffieri, Pajou...

Bibliographie

- VITRY Paul , "Quelques bustes du XVIIIe siècle récemment entrés au musée du Louvre", in Les Arts, n 117, septembre 1911, pp. 2-6.

- REAU Louis, Une dynastie de sculpteurs au XVIIIe siècle : les Lemoyne, Paris, 1927, pp. 106-108 et p. 151.

Cartel

  • Jean-Baptiste II LEMOYNE (Paris, 1704 - Paris, 1778)

    Noël-Nicolas Coypel (1690 - 1734)

    1730

  • Terre cuite

    H. : 0,65 m. ; L. : 0,36 m. ; Pr. : 0,43 m.

  • Acquis en 1910 , 1910

    R.F. 1501

  • Sculptures

    Aile Richelieu
    Rez-de-chaussée
    Bouchardon
    Salle 23
    Vitrine 2

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet