Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Rhyton

Work Rhyton

Department of Near Eastern Antiquities: The Middle East after Alexander's Conquest

Rhyton

© 2005 RMN / Franck Raux

Near Eastern Antiquities
The Middle East after Alexander's Conquest

Author(s):
Demange Françoise

This strange composite vase comprises a jug, with a female head emerging out of the body; a long curved horn extending the neck and ending in an animal head, the pierced muzzle of which is the spout of the rhyton. The object is covered inside and out with a blue-green glaze. These rhyta were drinking vessels: the drinker held the recipient above his head and let the liquid stream into his mouth.

A strange composite vessel

This vessel could be called a "jug-rhyton." The upper part is a jug, with a female head emerging out of its ovoid belly. The face, surrounded by fluffy hair, appears at the front of the vase while at the back by the handle side, the hair is pulled into a big bun, tied with a fancy ribbon. The neck extends in a long curved horn ending with an animal's head, the pierced muzzle of which is the spout of the rhyton. The potter has used three different manufacturing techniques. The jug has been made on the wheel, but the lower part has been molded in two parts. The animal's muzzle seems to have been modeled directly. A thick glaze covers the outside and the inside, which was usual for recipients containing liquids such as water or wine, the taste of which could be altered by contact with porous terra-cotta. The glaze, now a very pale blue-green, was probably originally the darker colour that is still visible in some areas.

A rhyton from the Parthian-Sasanian period

There are a very few examples of this type of vessel; one of the most complete is in the British Museum. The body of the vessel, above the woman's head, is decorated with the relief bust of a man, which may represent king Shapur I (241-272), the son and successor of the founder of the Sasanian empire. Shapur I could also be the royal horseman stamped on the body of another rhyton, the female head of which is similar to that on this vessel. The same female head decorates the lid of a glazed pottery sarcophagus discovered in the Parthian levels of the city of Nippur in Mesopotamia. These similarities suggest that our vase dates from the very end of the Parthian period or the beginning of the Sasanian empire.

Drinking vessels used at banquets

These rhyta were drinking vessels. The drinker held the recipient above his head and let the liquid stream directly into his mouth. But they were not part of everyday crockery; they are the popular echo of the splendor of princely banquets where the guests used similar vessels made of precious metals. Did they have a ritual function or were they simply luxurious utensils used at banquets during profane festivals? It is hard to say because we know nothing about popular religious rites, which were certainly very different from official forms of worship.

Technical description

  • Rhyton

    IIe - IIIe siècle après J.-C.

    Iran ?

  • Terre cuite à glaçure bleu-vert

    H. 0.32; W. 0.17

  • Acquisition 2001 , 2001

    AO 31560

  • Near Eastern Antiquities

    Richelieu wing
    Ground floor
    Anatolian civilizations, from the earliest times to the 1st millennium BC
    Room 230

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays.
Free admission on the first Saturday of each month
from 6 p.m. to 9:45 p.m.
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Rhyton

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Rhyton

© 2005 RMN / Franck Raux

Antiquités orientales
Après la Conquête d'Alexandre

Auteur(s) :
Françoise Demange

Ce curieux vase composite associe trois formes. Une cruche dont la panse s'ouvre pour laisser émerger un élément plastique en forme de tête féminine. Un long cornet recourbé prolonge le cou et se termine par une tête d'animal dont le museau percé forme le goulot du rhyton. L'extérieur et l'intérieur sont recouverts d'une glaçure bleu-vert. Ces rhyta étaient des vases à boire : chaque buveur maintenait le récipient au-dessus de sa tête afin que le liquide s'écoule directement dans sa bouche.

Un curieux vase composite

On pourrait utiliser le terme de "cruche-rhyton" pour qualifier ce vase. La partie supérieure est une cruche dont la panse ovoïde s'ouvre pour laisser émerger un élément plastique en forme de tête féminine. Le visage encadré d'une chevelure bouffante apparaît sur la partie antérieure du vase alors qu'à l'arrière du côté de l'anse, les cheveux forment une sorte de gros chignon en rouleau maintenu par un ruban ouvragé. Le cou se prolonge en un long cornet recourbé terminé par une tête d'animal dont le museau percé est le goulot du rhyton. Le potier a utilisé trois techniques de fabrication différentes. La cruche est faite au tour, mais la partie inférieure a été réalisée en deux parties par moulage. Le museau de l'animal semble avoir été directement modelé. Une épaisse glaçure recouvre l'extérieur mais aussi l'intérieur du vase, ce qui était la règle pour les récipients contenant des liquides comme l'eau ou le vin dont la saveur risquait de s'altérer au contact de la terre cuite poreuse. Cette glaçure, actuellement d'un bleu-vert très pâle, avait vraisemblablement une teinte plus soutenue à l'origine encore visible sur certaines zones de la surface.

Un rython d'époque partho-sassanide

Quelques rares exemples de vases de ce type sont répertoriés, un des plus complets est conservé au British Museum. La panse, au-dessus de la tête de femme, est ornée d'un buste d'homme en relief qui pourrait représenter le roi Shapur I (241-272), fils et successeur du fondateur de l'empire sassanide. Shapur I pourrait être aussi le cavalier royal représenté en estampage sur la panse d'un autre rhyton dont la tête féminine est proche de celle du vase du Louvre. On retrouve ce même visage féminin ornant le couvercle d'un sarcophage en céramique glaçurée découvert dans les niveaux parthes de la ville de Nippur en Mésopotamie. Ces éléments de comparaison plaident pour dater notre vase de l'extrême fin de la période parthe ou du début de l'empire sassanide.

Des vases à boire utilisés lors des banquets

Ces rhyta étaient des vases à boire : chaque buveur maintenait le récipient au-dessus de sa tête et le liquide s'écoulait directement dans sa bouche. Mais ils ne faisaient pas partie de la vaisselle d'usage quotidien, ils sont l'écho populaire des fastes des tables princières où l'on usait de récipients de même type façonnés dans des métaux précieux. Avaient-ils une fonction rituelle ou étaient-ils simplement des ustensiles plus luxueux dont on se servait au cours des banquets lors de fêtes profanes ? Il est difficile de répondre car on ignore tout des rites de la religion populaire certainement très éloignée des cultes officiels.

Cartel

  • Rhyton

    IIe - IIIe siècle après J.-C.

    Iran ?

  • Terre cuite à glaçure bleu-vert

  • Acquisition 2001

    AO 31560

  • Antiquités orientales

    Aile Sully
    Rez-de-chaussée
    Mésopotamie, Iran, Levant
    Salle 16, salle fermée au public, non exposé

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet