Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Table

Marble and pietra dura table-top

© 2005 RMN / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

Decorative Arts
17th century

Barbier Muriel

Louis XIV (1638-1715) ordered the Manufacture des Gobelins to open a hardstone mosaic workshop to compete with Florentine master mosaicists. The tabletop held in the Louvre was made in the Gobelins workshop. The mosaic forms the royal crown and coat of arms. This table, particularly the realism of the birds and landscapes, reflects the sheer quality of work being done in Paris by lapidaries (stone carvers).

The hardstone mosaic workshop in the Manufacture des Gobelins

From the end of the 16th century, hardstone mosaics produced in Florence became fashionable throughout Europe. Louis XIV decided to set up a rival center at the Manufacture des Gobelins in Paris. He enticed Florentine mosaicists to set up in the new workshops, which got underway in 1668. The workshop first was run by Ferdinando Migliorini (died 1683), then by Filippo Branchi (died 1699), before production ceased. The workshop produced both tabletops like this one and decorative mosaics for use in cabinets.

The royal crown and the birds

This tabletop was made using a wide variety of types of marble and semi-precious stones. The finished mosaic forms a picture, unlike those produced in Florence. In the center of the surface, against a background of black marble, is the royal coat of arms, inlaid in agate and lapis lazuli. Above the arms are the royal crown and laurel branches. At the corners of the tabletop, the king's monogram - two interlaced Ls - is also topped by the royal crown. Between these two symbols of royalty are six square panels, each depicting an extremely realistic-looking bird in a landscape with white clouds. This tabletop is very similar to another made for the king in the Gobelins workshops in 1671, described in the inventory of his furniture. It is also very similar to the table that appears in the tapestry The Visit of Louis XIV to the Gobelins, first woven between 1673 and 1679. All of these works bear the mark of the royal crown.

From the project stage to the Louvre

A preliminary watercolor for this tabletop is held in the collection of Robert de Cotte, architect to Louis XIV, in the Prints and Engravings Room in the French National Library. The tabletop was part of the Crown collection under the ancien régime. During the Second Empire it was in the Palais des Tuileries, propped on a wooden console carved and gilded in the Louis XIV style. When the tabletop was moved to the Louvre in 1870, the console was deemed to be in bad taste, and it was replaced in 1873 by the current base, also in gilded wood. This base was the work of two Parisian craftsmen, the sculptor Lemesle and the gilder Bascour, who copied the base of the tabletop MR 405.


Alcouffe D., Dion-Tenenbaum A., Lefébure A., Le Mobilier du Musée du Louvre, Paris, 1993, t.1, p.334-3397 .

Technical description

  • Manufacture des Gobelins

    Marble and pietra dura table-top

    Last quarter of 17th century


  • W. 1.73 m; D. 1.32 m

  • Assigned from the Mobilier National, 1870 , 1870

    OA 5508

  • Decorative Arts

    Denon wing
    1st floor
    Galerie d'Apollon
    Room 66

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Table

Œuvre Table

Département des Objets d'art : XVIIe siècle

Plateau en mosaïque de marbres et pierres dures

© 2005 RMN / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

Objets d'art
XVIIe siècle

Auteur(s) :
Muriel Barbier

Pour concurrencer les ateliers florentins de pierres dures, Louis XIV (1638-1715) fit ouvrir, à la manufacture des Gobelins, un atelier de mosaïques de pierres dures. Le plateau de table conservé au Louvre provient de cet atelier. Portant la couronne et les armes royales, il est également révélateur de la qualité du travail des lapidaires établis à Paris par l'aspect naturaliste des oiseaux et des paysages.

L'atelier de pierres dures de la manufacture des Gobelins

À partir de la fin du XVIe siècle, les mosaïques de pierres dures réalisées à Florence fascinaient toute l'Europe. Afin de concurrencer cette production, Louis XIV décida la création au sein de la manufacture des Gobelins, à Paris, d'un atelier de mosaïques où travaillèrent des artistes florentins qu'on fit venir en France. L'atelier fonctionna à partir de 1668 et fut successivement dirigé par Ferdinando Migliorini (mort en 1683) et par Filippo Branchi (mort en 1699) avant de disparaître. Cet atelier produisait des plateaux de table comme celui du Louvre ainsi que des mosaïques destinées à décorer des cabinets.

Couronne royale et oiseaux

Une très grande variété de marbres et de pierres dures a été utilisée pour réaliser ce plateau. Le décor a un aspect pictural qui est propre à l'atelier des Gobelins et qui le différencie des mosaïques florentines. Le centre du plateau, sur fond de marbre noir, présente les armes royales en agate et lapis-lazuli surmontées de la couronne royale et de branches de laurier. Aux angles du plateau, le chiffre du Roi (deux L entrelacés) est sommé de la même couronne. Entre ces motifs emblématiques de la royauté, sont six panneaux carrés ornés chacun d'un oiseau très naturaliste au sein d'un paysage aux nuages blancs. Ce plateau est très proche de celui livré pour le Roi par la manufacture en 1671, décrit dans l'inventaire de son mobilier, ainsi que de celui qui apparaît sur la tapisserie La Visite de Louis XIV aux Gobelins tissée pour la première fois de 1673 à 1679. Tous sont ornés de la couronne royale.

Du projet à l'entrée au Louvre

Le projet aquarellé de ce plateau est conservé dans le fonds de l'agence Robert de Cotte, architecte de Louis XIV, au cabinet des estampes de la Bibliothèque nationale de France. Après avoir fait partie des collections royales sous l'Ancien Régime, la table se trouvait sous le Second Empire au palais des Tuileries. Elle était alors supportée par une console en bois sculpté et doré de style Louis XIV. Jugée de mauvais goût en 1870, lors de son transfert au Louvre, la console fut remplacée en 1873 par le piètement actuel également en bois doré. Il est l'œuvre de deux artisans parisiens : le sculpteur Lemesle et le doreur Bascour qui ont réalisé là une copie de celui du plateau MR 405.

Bibliographie

Alcouffe D., Dion-Tenenbaum A., Lefébure A., Le Mobilier du Musée du Louvre, Paris, 1993, t.1, p.334-339.

Cartel

  • Manufacture des Gobelins

    Plateau en mosaïque de marbres et pierres dures

    Dernier quart du XVIIe siècle

    Paris

  • L. : 1,73 m. ; Pr. : 1,32 m.

  • Versement du Mobilier national, 1870 , 1870

    OA 5508

  • Objets d'art

    Aile Denon
    1er étage
    Galerie d'Apollon
    Salle 66

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet