Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Vase

Work Vase

Department of Decorative Arts: 19th century

Vase

© 2007 RMN / Martine Beck-Coppola

Decorative Arts
19th century

Author(s):
Barbier Muriel

On the death of his wife in 1840, Baron de Feuchères (1785-1857) donated her estate to several institutions, including the Hospices Civils de la Ville de Paris. In recognition of this, the hospices presented him with this outstanding vase, today to be found in the Louvre. The silversmith chosen for the work was François-Désiré Froment-Meurice (1802-55), who reverted to the neoclassical style for this work.

A work in honor of Baron de Feuchères

Baron de Feuchères (1785-1857) had married Sophie Dawes in 1818, thinking she was the daughter of the Duke de Bourbon, whereas in fact she was his mistress. As soon as he realized this, he separated from his wife and went off on military campaigns overseas. When his wife died in 1840, he gave away the estate he had inherited, the amount to be shared between the Paris Hôtel-Dieu (general hospital), the Hospice des Ménages, the Hospice de Nîmes, the flood victims of the Gard, and the flood victims of the Ardèche. By way of thanks, the Hospices Civils de la Ville de Paris presented the baron with this vase bearing a cameo portrait of him by James Pradier, an inscription, and the coats of arms of the baron and of the city of Paris. The vase, then, mentions both benefactor and recipient. François-Désiré Froment-Meurice was chosen to undertake the commission as official silversmith to the city of Paris.

A revival of classicism

The vase, which is classical in shape, is particularly somber in design. Ovoid, it sits on a small pedestal decorated with a border of water lilies and vine leaves. The crux of the base consists of malachite cabochons alternating with rosettes, and the lower part of the belly of the vase is embelished with finely drawn oak and laurel leaves. This highly naturalistic treatment of ornamentation is at variance with true neoclassical style and illustrates the wide-ranging artistic inspiration of Froment-Meurice and the gradual abandonment of an antiquarian style. The belly with its burnished ground has a malachite portrait on one side and, on the other, the plaque carrying the inscription. The elongated neck bears the coats of arms mentioned earlier. The two handles, the work of the sculptor Alexandre Schoenewerk (1820-85), represent War (crowned with laurels, standing on the head of a Gorgon and holding a sword) and Charity (urged on by two children).

Subtly worked materials

The main body of the vase is in silver gilt. The decorative greenery stands out against the deadened ground. Several other decorative features, such as the handles and arms, are in silver, producing a somewhat polychrome effect. This interplay between gold and silver is typical of the period. The two figures were separately cast and molded (by Louis-Augustin Mulleret), and once set, attached with screws, using a technique handed down by the silversmith Odiot. This masterpiece of precious metalwork was completed by the expert skill of Pradier, who made the portrait of the baron in malachite. The malachite stands out against the burnished gold ground and again at the crux, hints of green that serve to emphasize the polychrome effect. This hard stone, seldom used in France, gives the vase a most original appearance.

Bibliography

EUZET M., "Pradier intime, bijoux et camées", in L'Estampille l'Objet d'art, n 380, mai 2003, pp. 71-75.
Exposition Trésors d'argent. Les Froment-Meurice orfèvres romantiques parisiens, Musée de la vie romantique (4 fév.-15 juin 2003), Paris-Musées, 2003, p. 26 et 188.
Exposition Un Âge d'or des Arts décoratifs 1814-1848, Grand palais (10 oct.-30 déc. 1991), Editions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1991, pp. 429-430.

Technical description

  • Jean-Jacques PRADIER, known as James PRADIER (Geneva, 1790 - Bougival, 1852)

    Vase

    C. 1843

    Paris

  • Silver, gilded silver, malachite
    Malachite medallion by Pradier; figures modelled by Schoenewerk

  • Gift of Mme Gide, Baronne de Feuchères, 1890 , 1890

    OA 3253

  • Decorative Arts

    Richelieu wing
    1st floor
    Chenavard
    Room 80
    Display case 1

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Vase

Si vous n’arrivez pas à lire les médias, téléchargez Flash Player.

Vase

© 2007 RMN / Martine Beck-Coppola

Objets d'art
XIXe siècle

Auteur(s) :
Barbier Muriel

À la mort de son épouse en 1840, le baron de Feuchères (1785-1857) fit don de son héritage à plusieurs institutions parmi lesquelles les Hospices civils de la ville de Paris. Pour lui signifier leur reconnaissance, les Hospices civils lui offrirent le vase monumental aujourd'hui conservé au Louvre. L'orfèvre sélectionné fut François-Désiré Froment-Meurice (1802-1855) qui renouvela sur cette œuvre le répertoire néoclassique.

Une oeuvre en l'honneur du baron de Feuchères

Le baron de Feuchères (1785-1857) avait épousé en 1818 Sophie Dawes croyant qu'elle était la fille naturelle du duc de Bourbon. Or elle était en réalité sa maîtresse. Lorsqu'il s'en aperçut, il se sépara de sa femme et partit mener des campagnes militaires à l'étranger. À la mort de sa femme en 1840, il fit don de son héritage. La somme fut partagée entre l'Hôtel Dieu de Paris, l'Hospice des ménages, l'Hospice de la ville de Nîmes, les inondés du Gard et les inondés de l'Ardèche. Les Hospices de la ville de Paris remirent en remerciement au baron le vase qui porte son portrait en camée par James Pradier, accompagné par une dédicace, les armes du baron et celles de la ville de Paris. Le programme évoque donc le mécène et le bénéficiaire. François-Désiré Froment-Meurice avait été choisi pour exécuter cette commande en tant qu'orfèvre en titre de la ville de Paris.

Le classicisme renouvelé

Le vase, de forme très classique, est orné d'un décor particulièrement sobre. De forme ovoïde, le vase repose sur un piédouche souligné par une frise de feuilles d'eau et orné de feuilles de vigne. Le nœud du pied est composé de petits cabochons de malachite alternant avec des rosaces et le bas de la panse est agrémenté de feuillages de chêne et de laurier précisément représentés. Ce traitement très naturaliste des ornements est opposé à la stylisation propre au néoclassicisme. Il révèle la diversité de l'inspiration de Froment-Meurice et l'abandon progressif du répertoire antiquisant. La panse au fond bruni présente sur une face le portrait en malachite et sur l'autre, un cartel avec la dédicace. Le col étiré porte les armes évoquées précédemment. Les anses, œuvres du sculpteur Alexandre Schoenewerk (1820-1885), symbolisent l'une la Guerre (couronnée de lauriers debout sur la tête de Gorgone et tenant une épée) et l'autre la Charité (pressée par deux enfants).

Un subtil travail des matières

Le corps du vase est en argent doré. Les ornements végétaux se détachent sur un fond amati. Certains autres ornements comme les figures des anses et les armes sont en argent introduisant ainsi une certaine polychromie. Ce jeu entre l'or et l'argent est d'ailleurs caractéristique de cette époque. Les deux figures ont été fondues et ciselées (par Louis-Augustin Mulleret) à part et fixées à froid par des vis selon une technique héritée de l'orfèvre Odiot. Cette maîtrise du travail du métal précieux est complétée par la virtuosité de Pradier qui a réalisé le portrait du baron en malachite. La malachite se détache sur le fond doré bruni et se retrouve au niveau du nœud. Autant de touches vertes qui accentuent la polychromie. Cette pierre dure, rarement utilisée en France, permet de donner au vase une dimension toute originale.

Bibliographie

EUZET M., "Pradier intime, bijoux et camées", in L'Estampille l'Objet d'art, n 380, mai 2003, pp. 71-75.
Exposition Trésors d'argent. Les Froment-Meurice orfèvres romantiques parisiens, Musée de la vie romantique (4 fév.-15 juin 2003), Paris-Musées, 2003, p. 26 et 188.
Exposition Un Âge d'or des Arts décoratifs 1814-1848, Grand palais (10 oct.-30 déc. 1991), Editions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1991, pp. 429-430.

Cartel

  • Jean-Jacques PRADIER, dit James (Genève, 1790 - Bougival, 1852)

    Vase

    Vers 1843

    Paris

  • Argent, argent doré, malachiteMédaillon en malachite de Pradier ; figures modelées par Schoenewerk

  • Don de Mme Gide, baronne de Feuchères, 1890

    OA 3253

  • Objets d'art

    Aile Richelieu
    1er étage
    Chenavard
    Salle 80
    Vitrine 1

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet