Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Activities & Tours>Visitor Trails>Eugène Delacroix

Visitor trails Eugène Delacroix, Passion and Inspiration

Paintings - Length: 1 hr 30 mins - Tour days: Monday Wednesday Friday Saturday Sunday

School groups

Eugène Delacroix, Mort de Sardanapale (détail)
Eugène Delacroix, Mort de Sardanapale (détail)

© Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

00Introduction

Discovering the art of Delacroix is like going on on a whirlwind journey through the deepest troughs of suffering, fear, despair and to the highest peaks of intense rapture and energy. In this tour, we will explore how the artist used color, light, and movement to arouse emotion in his audience.

One entry in the diary of Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863) reads, “I dislike reasonable painting.” Many of his paintings depict scenes of suffering, fear, and despair, while others are filled with a sense of boundless rapture and energy or even tranquility. His art draws on themes from mythology, literature, the mysterious East, and contemporary history, all treated with the same emotional intensity. We have presented the paintings, both large and small, not according to chronology but rather in the way we feel best represents his use of color, light, and movement to arouse emotion and to make his audience question their own attitudes to art. Let yourself be swept away by Delacroix’ passion and inspiration!


How to get to the next stop:
Starting from the pyramid, take the escalator to the Denon wing. After the ticket barrier, turn right and take lift K on your left to the first floor. Look at the left-hand wall in room 77, which holds the largest works in the French painting collection.

Dante and Virgil in Hell, also known as The Barque of Dante
Dante and Virgil in Hell, also known as The Barque of Dante

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

01The Barque of Dante

This, the first work Delacroix submitted to the Paris Salon, draws on an episode from Dante’s Divine Comedy, written in Italy in the thirteenth and fourteenth century. Virgil, the Latin poet, is taking the author on a journey of initiation. Delacroix chose this scene to reflect his vision of humanity which he felt had lost its bearings. The scene takes place in Hell. Note the red glow of eternal hellfire in the background and the ghastly pallor of the dead in the foreground, symbolizing all the horror of the underworld. Take a close look at the painting to see the writhing bodies and terrified expressions of the dead, naked, their eyes wide with fear and their faces contorted with pain. We sense the pain and terror of the damned souls that try in vain to cling to the barque. In the midst of this chaos are the two poets. Dante is wearing a red cap, while Virgil’s face is framed by a swathe of white cloth. They are standing in the barque, observing the chaos all around them. Note, in the center of the painting, their hands, so close they might almost be touching.

How to get to the next stop:
Turn left and pass through rooms 77, 76, and 75. Go down the stairs on the left and then straight back up towards the Winged Victory of Samothrace. Cross the Apollo rotunda and rooms 34 and 74. There, on the right, take lift C to the second floor. Turn right out of the lift and walk on to room 62.

Hamlet and Horatio at the Cemetery
Hamlet and Horatio at the Cemetery

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

02Hamlet and Horatio in the graveyard

In act five of Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Hamlet, accompanied by Horatio, meditates on the frailty of human existence as he waits for his fiancée’s funeral procession. Delacroix produced several works based on this scene to explore this existential anguish. You can see another such small painting on your left.
Look at the skull and note how the grave-digger’s exaggerated gesture creates a feeling of malaise. Trace the line of vision of each character and the axes formed by the hill, the path, and the finger pointed by the figure seen from the back: they all lead to the disinterred skull. Note the subtle play of colors. The gray, blue, and yellow of the sky and the soil form a gloomy setting and a heavy atmosphere fully in tune with the grieving figures. Hamlet is wearing black, the color of mourning. His smooth face and delicate fingers are signs of his fleeting youth.

How to get to the next stop:
Now look at the wall perpendicular to this one on your right.

Jewish Wedding in Morocco
Jewish Wedding in Morocco

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

03Jewish wedding in Morocco

Delacroix’ journey to Morocco proved a decisive influence on his art, as evinced by the numerous sketchbooks he brought back with him. He drew on these sketches, watercolors, and notes to compose a number of major paintings, more serene in nature than those we have seen, including this wedding scene. We know that he was a guest at a wedding in Tangiers.
Note how the contrasts of light and shade give depth to the scene. Look at the various figures in the group and observe the range of poses, gestures, and gazes. Now take a closer look at the painting and see how Delacroix used small brushstrokes to evoke the bright lights and colors of this Oriental scene. But why has he left a white wall and an empty space in the center of the painting? Probably in reference to the bride’s absence. The various doors, windows, and other openings are there to pique our curiosity. It is clear that something important is going on indoors. In the same room, on the facing wall to the right, you can see a self-portrait of the artist.

How to get to the next stop:
Pass through rooms 64 to 69 to reach room 71.

Young Orphan Girl in the Cemetery
Young Orphan Girl in the Cemetery

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

04Young orphan girl in the cemetery

This painting, an early work by Eugène Delacroix, was long thought to be a preparatory piece for the Massacre at Chios. Even before reading the title, it is clear that an air of sadness emanates from the picture.
Note how clear and precise the outlines are. The young girl is sharply defined against the less precise background of the sky and the deserted cemetery. Note how Delacroix has subtly conveyed signs of the girl’s grief – the tears welling up in her dark-ringed eyes, the half-open mouth, the way her gown has slipped off her shoulder, her hand lying dully on her thigh. Observe the play of shadows on her nape and neck and the darker shade to the right of the figure. The cold, dull colors of her clothing and the landscape echo the overall atmosphere of despair.
Take a close look at the beautifully delicate lines of the girl’s face and neck and the light touch of fabric which heighten the impression of solitude.
What can the orphan be gazing at, beyond the frame?

How to get to the next stop:
Now look at the painting on your right.

The Prisoner of Chillon
The Prisoner of Chillon

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

05The prisoner of Chillon

This painting draws on a poem by the great early-nineteenth-century English poet Byron, inspired by the fate of François Bonivard, a sixteenth-century politician from Geneva. Bonivard was imprisoned in Chillon castle on the shores of Lake Geneva for challenging the authorities of the day and was forced to watch his brother die. Delacroix is particularly interested in the violent treatment of the prisoner and his helplessness.
The scene takes place in a prison cell. Your eyes take a while to adjust to the gloom before you can see the contorted body of the captive. Note how the light shines on the diagonal line of his foot pushing against the pillar and the way the muscles of the body and arms are strained with desperation as the prisoner gazes imploringly at the second figure. See the chain set into the rock that holds him prisoner. Lying curled in the dark, forming a striking contrast to the desperately lunging prisoner, is the body of his dying brother – just a few feet away, but forever beyond his reach. Note the gloomy palette of similar browns and ochres which add to the impression of the prisoner’s feral wildness, brought out by such long captivity.

How to get to the next stop:
Go on to the next room, room 72.

Rebecca Abducted by the Templar
Rebecca Abducted by the Templar

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

06The Abduction of Rebecca

The scene is taken from Walter Scott’s novel Ivanhoe, set in medieval times. Delacroix often drew his inspiration from tragic tales of murder, kidnapping, and sacrifice, which allowed him to use his nervous brushwork and colorful palette to best advantage.
Stand to the left of the painting to have a side view of the work. Trace your line of vision with your finger, from the beam at the bottom to the horse’s crupper and mane, Rebecca, and the smoke rising skywards. This S-shaped curve structures the work as a whole. The brutal abduction is captured in the heat of the action. Note how the heroine is struggling to escape her kidnapper, her torso and neck arching backwards. Now, standing directly in front of the painting, note the warm colors – reds, oranges, and yellows – and the splashes of white in the chaos of the night. This contrast reflects the dramatic intensity of the scene and the young woman’s terror.

How to get to the next stop:
Now turn to your right and look at the wall perpendicular to this one.

Furious Medea
Furious Medea

© R.M.N./G. Blot

07Medea

This painting refers to a mythical character from Greek legend. Medea, abandoned and betrayed by Jason, wreaks terrible vengeance by slaughtering their children.
Trace the pyramid of the figures with your finger and note how the bodies of the two children seem to meld with that of their mother – a reference to maternal love. Light shines into the cave from the left and highlights the sensual, generous lines of the three figures. Has the woman sought refuge in the cave to protect her children – or to kill them? Note the various elements that suggest the wildness of the site – the cave, the earth, the plants – and of the figures – Medea’s wild hair, the shadow across her face, the rough way she is handling the children, and the terror in their eyes. The richness of her jewelry, including the diadem that represents her status as a repudiated queen, forms an ironic contrast with the barbarous act she is about to commit. Her determination is clear from her stern profile and her firm grip on the dagger, while the reds and browns of her robes echo her fury.

How to get to the next stop:
Retrace your footsteps back to the lifts and take lift C to the first floor. Turn left out of the lift and pass through the rooms back to the Winged Victory of Samothrace. Go down two flights of stairs then go back up to the right to the red rooms housing the collection of large French paintings. Pass through rooms 75, 76, and 77 again. The next painting is in the middle of the right-hand wall.

Massacres at Chios; Greek Families Awaiting Death or Slavery
Massacres at Chios; Greek Families Awaiting Death or Slavery

© R.M.N./H. Lewandowski

08The Massacre at Chios

This subject was drawn from a contemporary event – the early-nineteenth-century war of independence fought by the Greeks against the Turks. Thousands of Greeks were massacred on the island of Chios. Delacroix was inspired by reports of the events to produce this large painting.
Walk past the painting from left to right, looking at the faces and bodies on which the light falls. Their expressions are a perfect picture of fear and weary despair. The horror of war is suggested by the semi-nudity and the physical lassitude of the defeated Greeks. The blades of the daggers are there to see. Tears and blood are flowing over the bodies of a dying couple. The victorious forces in their uniforms are in shadow, suggesting the unhappy fate that awaits the captives.
Take a couple of steps back and look at the background of the painting. The alternating patches of dark and light form an apocalyptic scene – the aftermath of a dreadful battle. The blurred brushstrokes strengthen this impression of desolation.

How to get to the next stop:
Now look at the painting on your left.

Women of Algiers in their Apartment
Women of Algiers in their Apartment

© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

09Women of Algiers in their apartment

Baudelaire, the great nineteenth-century French poet, called this painting – the first of Delacroix’s great works inspired by his visit to the Orient – a “small poem of an interior full of rest and silence”. In Algiers, Delacroix paid a secret visit to a harem.
The overall impression of this painting is one of great serenity. Note the delicious light that bathes the setting. Yet the scene is also full of colors and shapes, transformed by the light, filling the space so that the eye is constantly drawn from one to another. Note the great variety of elements. The tones overlap and intertwine to form a vibrant yet refined palette. Observe the nonchalance of the serving girl and the languid poses of the beautiful Oriental women. Their hands, legs, and drifting gazes add to the overall impression of torpor. Look closely at the painting and admire the range of effects Delacroix has achieved in depicting various materials, the dull surfaces of the carpets, cushions, and tiles contrasting with the shimmering mirrors, jewels, silks, and glass. The thick paint and small brushstrokes add to the somewhat claustrophobic, suffocating ambience of the painting.

How to get to the next stop:
Now look at the painting on the left.

Death of Sardanapalus
Death of Sardanapalus

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

10The Death of Sardanapalus

Sardanapalus was a legendary Oriental king of Antiquity who ordered a sacrificial pyre to be built to expiate the shame of a military defeat. After ordering the massacre of all his women, slaves, and horses, he chose to burn to death on the pyre. Delacroix, always drawn to such extreme subjects, took the opportunity to paint a vision of horror.
The scene is one of utter chaos. Where is it taking place? Group the figures together in pairs – the king and his mistress, unconscious on the bed, the black slave pulling at the white horse on the left, the naked woman being stabbed by the man on the right. The figures are scattered across the canvas, making it difficult to find any visual coherence. Take a couple of steps back and half-close your eyes to see how the blocks of white, yellow, and red form a warm, bright splash across the canvas from left to right and from top to bottom. The lust for luxury and pleasure are reflected in the colorful objects, swathes of cloth, jewels, and the reeling bodies. The king’s emotionless expression is all the more shocking in the midst of such an orgy of violence.

How to get to the next stop:
The trail is now finished. Turn right and pass through room 77. Take lift K in room 76 down to the mezzanine level to return to the pyramid.

 

Author(s) :
Martine Duverger et Christine Thibert

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Visites & Activités>Parcours à imprimer>Eugène Delacroix

Parcours Eugène Delacroix, La fureur de peindre

Peintures - Durée : 1h30 - Jours de visite : Lundi Mercredi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche

Groupes scolaires

Eugène Delacroix, Mort de Sardanapale (détail)
Eugène Delacroix, Mort de Sardanapale (détail)

© Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

00Introduction

C’est dans une traversée tumultueuse que va vous entraîner Eugène Delacroix : la souffrance, la peur, le désespoir, parfois ponctués d’enthousiasme et d’allégresse seront vos escales. Vous découvrirez comment le peintre joue sur les couleurs, la lumière et le mouvement pour nous émouvoir.

Je n’aime pas la peinture raisonnable », affirme Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863) dans son Journal. C’est dans une traversée tumultueuse que va vous entraîner le peintre : la souffrance, la peur, le désespoir, parfois ponctués d’enthousiasme, d’allégresse ou de tranquillité, seront vos escales. L’artiste a notamment puisé dans la mythologie, la littérature, l’Orient et l’histoire contemporaine pour donner forme à ces sentiments exacerbés. Les oeuvres de grand ou de petit formats sont présentées dans un ordre qui n’est délibérément pas chronologique. Vous y découvrirez surtout comment le peintre joue sur les couleurs, la lumière et le mouvement pour nous émouvoir, voire nous ébranler. Embarquez avec Delacroix et laissez-vous emporter par sa fureur de peindre !

 

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Depuis la pyramide, prenez l’escalier mécanique direction Denon. Après le contrôle des billets, tournez à droite ; prenez l’ascenseur K à votre gauche pour rejoindre le premier étage. Dirigez-vous à gauche dans la salle 77, consacrée aux grands formats de la collection des Peintures françaises.

 

 

Dante et Virgile aux enfers, dit aussi La Barque de Dante
Dante et Virgile aux enfers, dit aussi La Barque de Dante

© RMN (Musée du Louvre) / Droits réservés

01Dante et Virgile aux enfers

La première oeuvre officielle de Delacroix s’inspire de La Divine Comédie de Dante, écrivain italien du XIIIe-XIVe siècle. Virgile, le poète latin, y entraîne l’auteur dans un voyage initiatique. Le peintre utilise cet épisode pour mettre en scène son sentiment d’une humanité en perte de repères. Voici les enfers. Remarquez au fond la lumière rouge du feu infernal et au premier plan, la clarté blafarde des corps. Elles traduisent l’épouvante de ce lieu empli d’obscurité. Approchez-vous et observez les contorsions et les expressions des personnages nus, alignés, yeux écarquillés de peur et visages déformés par la douleur. Elles nous font partager l’horreur de ces suppliciés qui tentent vainement de s’agripper à l’embarcation. Dans cette tempête, distinguez les deux poètes. Un bonnet rouge encadre le visage de Dante ; un tissu blanc souligne celui de Virgile : debout sur la barque du passeur, ils contemplent ce chaos. Notez, au centre du tableau, leurs mains presque unies.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Repartez à gauche et traversez les salles 77, 76 et 75. À gauche, descendez et remontez tout droit les escaliers vers la Victoire de Samothrace.Traversez la rotonde d’Apollon, les salles 34 et 74. À la sortie, prenez l’ascenseur C à droite pour rejoindre le deuxième étage. À droite, allez jusqu’à la salle 62.

 

 

Hamlet et Horatio au cimetière
Hamlet et Horatio au cimetière

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

02Hamlet et Horatio au cimetière

Dans l’acte V de la pièce de Shakespeare, Hamlet, attendant avec Horatio le convoi funéraire de sa fiancée, médite sur la fragilité de l’existence. Delacroix s’est inspiré de ce texte à plusieurs reprises pour traduire cette angoisse. Vous pouvez le constater sur un autre petit format à gauche. Voyez ce crâne. Le geste ostentatoire du fossoyeur ne crée-t-il pas une sensation de malaise ? Imaginez le trajet des regards et suivez les lignes formées par la colline, le sentier et le doigt pointé du personnage de dos : tout converge vers cette tête déterrée. Appréciez le jeu des couleurs : le ciel bleu, gris et jaune et le sol terreux forment un écrin lugubre ; ils créent une atmosphère pesante en accord avec le tourment des humains. Le noir, couleur du deuil, habille Hamlet. Son visage lisse et la délicatesse de ses doigts mettent en valeur sa jeunesse éphémère.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Dans cette même salle, regardez sur le mur perpendiculaire à droite.

Noce juive au Maroc
Noce juive au Maroc

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

03Noce juive au Maroc

De son voyage au Maroc, étape essentielle de sa création, Delacroix rapporte de nombreux carnets. Il puise dans ce trésor de croquis, d’aquarelles et de notations pour composer d’importantes toiles moins tourmentées, dont ce mariage. On sait d’ailleurs qu’il a assisté à Tanger à une noce. Observez comment les contrastes d’ombre et de lumière donnent de la profondeur à la scène. Parcourez l’assemblée cosmopolite et notez les différentes postures, les gestes, les regards. Approchez-vous : les petits coups de pinceau restituent la luminosité des couleurs orientales. Mais à quoi peuvent renvoyer le mur blanc et le vide, au centre ? Sans doute à l’absence de la mariée. Relevez les différentes portes, fenêtres, ouvertures qui attisent notre curiosité. Quelque chose d’essentiel se joue à l’intérieur. Dans cette même salle, vous apercevez, sur le mur opposé, à droite, un autoportrait de l’artiste.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Traversez les salles 64 à 69. Rendez-vous dans la salle 71.

 

Jeune orpheline au cimetière
Jeune orpheline au cimetière

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

04Jeune orpheline au cimetière

Ce tableau, qu’Eugène Delacroix a réalisé dans sa jeunesse, a longtemps été considéré comme une étude préparatoire aux Massacres de Scio. Avant même d’en connaître le titre, nous percevons la tristesse qui en émane. Examinez combien les contours sont tracés avec précision. Ils mettent en relief la jeune fille sur le fond plus flou du ciel et du cimetière désolé. Remarquez comment se manifeste subtilement le désespoir : les larmes perlent au bord de l’oeil cerné, la bouche s’entrouvre, le corsage glisse, dénudant l’épaule, la main est abandonnée sur la cuisse. Relevez les ombres : sur la nuque, le cou, celle plus sombre à droite du personnage. Voyez également comment la palette froide du paysage et des vêtements sert le sentiment général. Appréciez de plus près le délicat modelé du visage et du décolleté, la touche légère des étoffes qui exacerbent l’impression de solitude. Mais que regarde l’orpheline au-delà du cadre ?

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Dans cette même salle, regardez le tableau à droite.

Le prisonnier de Chillon
Le prisonnier de Chillon

© Musée du Louvre/A. Dequier - M. Bard

05Le prisonnier de Chillon

Ce tableau reprend un poème de Byron, auteur anglais du XIXe siècle, qui célèbre un politicien genevois du XVIe siècle, François Bonivard. Opposé au pouvoir, il fut emprisonné au château de Chillon, sur le bord du lac Léman, et assista à la mort de son frère. C’est la violence infligée au prisonnier et son impuissance qui intéressent le peintre. Vous pénétrez dans un cachot. Votre oeil s’habitue progressivement à la pénombre puis discerne la tension du corps du détenu. Suivez de plus près la diagonale éclairée formée par le pied qui s’appuie sur la colonne, le corps, le bras et le regard désespérément tendus. Repérez la chaîne scellée qui le retient. À ce mouvement s’oppose, dans l’obscurité, l’enroulement du corps du frère qui se meurt, si proche et pourtant inaccessible. Notez enfin la gamme sombre et réduite de bruns et d’ocres. Elle concourt à l’expressivité animale liée à la captivité.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Poursuivez dans la salle suivante, salle 72.

Rébecca enlevée par le Templier
Rébecca enlevée par le Templier

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

06Rébecca enlevée par le Templier

Le sujet, emprunté à Ivanhoé, roman historique de Walter Scott, met en scène des personnages médiévaux. Delacroix aime raconter des histoires tragiques : meurtres, enlèvements, sacrifices lui permettent de déployer sa touche nerveuse et sa palette colorée. Placez-vous à gauche du tableau de façon à avoir un angle de vue latéral. Dessinez du doigt le trajet de votre oeil : depuis la poutre en bas, la croupe et la crinière du cheval, puis Rébecca jusqu’à la fumée qui s’élève vers le ciel. Cette courbe en «S» structure l’oeuvre : l’enlèvement brutal est pris sur le vif dans une agitation tourbillonnante. Vous apprécierez combien l’héroïne se débat, buste et nuque jetés en arrière. Face à la toile, relevez les couleurs chaudes (rouge, oranger, jaune) et le blanc dispersés dans cette nuit confuse. Ce contraste traduit l’intensité dramatique et la peur de la jeune femme.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Restez dans cette salle et tournez-vous à droite vers le mur perpendiculaire.

Médée furieuse
Médée furieuse

© R.M.N./G. Blot

07Médée furieuse

Delacroix se réfère à un personnage mythologique de la tragédie antique ; Médée, abandonnée et trahie par Jason, choisit l’infanticide pour se venger.Dessinez la pyramide des corps : les deux enfants et leur mère ne font qu’un. Ce rapprochement évoque la passion maternelle. La lumière entre dans la grotte par la gauche et modèle leurs chairs généreuses avec sensualité. Cette femme acculée fuit-elle pour protéger ses enfants ou pour les tuer ? Relevez les différents éléments qui expriment la sauvagerie dans le décor – la grotte, la terre, les herbes – et chez les personnages – la chevelure de Médée, l’ombre sur son visage, la brutalité de ses gestes, les bras et les yeux des enfants. À cette barbarie s’oppose la richesse des bijoux : notez, entre autres, le diadème de la reine bafouée. Sa détermination se lit sur le profil et le poing serré sur la dague, sa rage dans le rouge et le brun de la robe.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Revenez sur vos pas et reprenez l’ascenseur C jusqu’au premier étage.Tournez à gauche, traversez les salles jusqu’à la Victoire de Samothrace. Descendez les deux volées d’escalier pour remonter à droite vers les salles rouges des Peintures françaises grands formats.Traversez à nouveau les salles 75, 76 et 77. Le prochain tableau se trouve à droite au milieu.

Scène des massacres de Scio ; familles grecques attendantla mort ou l'esclavage
Scène des massacres de Scio ; familles grecques attendantla mort ou l'esclavage

© R.M.N./H. Lewandowski

08Scène des massacres de Scio

Il s’agit là d’un sujet d’actualité: la guerre d’indépendance qui opposa, au début du XIXe siècle, les Grecs aux Turcs. Sur l’île de Scio, des milliers de Grecs furent massacrés. Delacroix trouve là matière à une oeuvre de grand format. Déplacez-vous de gauche à droite en fixant les visages et les corps éclairés. Le dénuement, l’effroi ou la lassitude ne se lisent-ils pas dans les expressions ? L’horreur de la guerre est suggérée par la nudité et l’affaissement physique des vaincus. Voyez tout près les lames des poignards. Larmes et sang coulent sur le corps d’un couple qui se meurt. Les vainqueurs armés et vêtus de leur uniforme sont rejetés dans l’ombre et augurent du destin funeste de leurs victimes. Éloignez-vous et levez les yeux vers le lointain. L’alternance de taches sombres et lumineuses dessine un paysage apocalyptique après une violente bataille. L’imprécision de la touche sert cette impression de désolation.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Dans cette même salle, regardez à gauche.

Femmes d'Alger dans leur appartement
Femmes d'Alger dans leur appartement

© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

09Femmes d'Alger dans leur appartement

Petit poème d’intérieur, plein de repos et de silence », écrit Baudelaire, poète contemporain, à propos de cette première grande toile de Delacroix inspirée par son voyage en Orient. À Alger, l’artiste visite secrètement un harem. D’emblée, appréciez la sérénité qui émane de ce tableau. Goûtez comment la lumière baigne la scène. Pourtant couleurs et formes, ainsi métamorphosées, occupent tout l’espace et ne cessent de solliciter l’oeil. Observez la variété des motifs. Les teintes s’enchevêtrent pour s’animer en une palette raffinée. Observez la nonchalance de la servante et les postures alanguies des belles Orientales. Leurs mains, leurs jambes et les regards perdus participent de la torpeur statique. Approchez-vous et examinez les effets de matières : matité des tapis, coussins, carrelage, chatoiement des miroirs, bijoux, soieries, verres… Les empâtements et les petits coups de pinceau apparents restituent l’atmosphère étouffante et close.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Dans cette même salle, regardez à gauche.

 

 

Mort de Sardanapale
Mort de Sardanapale

© 2010 Musée du Louvre / Angèle Dequier

10La Mort de Sardanapale

Dans l’Antiquité, Sardanapale, un roi oriental légendaire, ordonne que l’on dresse un bûcher sacrificiel pour éviter la honte d’une défaite. Femmes, esclaves, chevaux sont massacrés. Il s’immole ensuite. Delacroix, peintre des extrêmes, choisit ce thème pour représenter un spectacle d’horreur. Quel chaos ! Où sommes-nous ? Regroupez les personnages par couple. Le roi et sa maîtresse évanouie sur le lit, l’esclave noir tirant son cheval blanc à gauche, la femme nue de dos qu’un homme poignarde à droite… tous se trouvent éparpillés sur la toile de façon à faire perdre leurs repères aux spectateurs. Prenez du recul et plissez les yeux pour voir comment le blanc, le jaune et le rouge sont répartis, telle une cascade chaude et lumineuse de gauche à droite et de haut en bas. L’excès de luxe et de plaisir s’exprime à travers les couleurs des objets, des tissus, des bijoux, et les corps renversés. L’attitude impassible du souverain choque d’autant plus dans cette violente débauche.

Itinéraire jusqu'à la prochaine œuvre :

Vous avez terminé votre parcours, repartez à droite et traversez la salle 77. Prenez l’ascenseur K dans la salle 76 jusqu’à l’entresol pour rejoindre la pyramide.

 

Auteur(s):
Martine Duverger et Christine Thibert