Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Prints and Drawings

Collections & departments Department of Prints and Drawings

One of the Louvre’s eight departments is home to the museum’s extensive collection of drawings, pastels, miniatures, prints, books, manuscripts, autograph works, woodcuts, copperplates, and lithographic stones.

Back to list

The Department of Prints and Drawings is home to an outstandingly rich collection, one of the largest in the world. It comprises drawings (loose leaves and albums), pastels, miniatures, prints, books, manuscripts, autograph works, woodcuts, copperplates, and lithographic stones. However, it is the least well known of the museum’s eight departments—a paradox explained by the fragility of the works, which prevents their permanent display. Nonetheless, they can be discovered through a range of publications and presentations, and through an online database; they can also be viewed by appointment.

Under the direction of Xavier Salmon, the department is divided into sections according to school and century, and each section has its own curator:

Epistemology of drawing: Lizzie Boubli, seconded to the CNRS
15th- and 16th-century French and Italian schools: Dominique Cordellier (dominique.cordellier@louvre.fr)
16th-century Italian school / Architectural drawings: Louis Frank (louis.frank@louvre.fr)
17th- and 18th-century French school: Juliette Trey (juliette.trey@louvre.fr)
19th-century French school: Marie-Pierre Salé (marie-pierre.sale@louvre.fr)
Northern schools: Olivia Savatier-Sjöholm (olivia.savatier@louvre.fr)
Edmond de Rothschild collection: Séverine Lepape (severine.lepape@louvre.fr)
Prints / “Chalcographie” (engraved plates) / miniatures: Jean-Gérald Castex (jean-gerald.castex@louvre.fr)

The curatorial team is supported by researchers who work on aspects of the collection and contribute to exhibitions and inventories:

German school: Hélène Grollemund, exhibition manager (helene.grollemund@louvre.fr)
15th- to 18th-century Genoese and Lombard schools: Federica Mancini, exhibition manager (frederica.mancini@louvre.fr)

Temporary exhibitions give visitors an opportunity to discover and study the department’s works. The viewing room in the Pavillon de Flore is also accessible on written request:
cabinet-des-dessins@louvre.fr or +33 (0)1 40 20 52 51
For the Rothschild collection, appointments are necessary:
collection-rothschild@louvre.fr or +33 (0)1 40 20 50 32.

Files on artworks and artists, department inventories and exhibition catalogues, reference books, and periodicals are available to all at the research center. The digital database contains a detailed, illustrated inventory of the department’s 200,000 artworks, and an inventory of the Musée Napoléon; it also records all the exhibitions at which the department’s works have been presented since they entered the museum’s collection.
The center is open Monday to Friday, from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Team members

Head of center: Brigitte Donon, brigitte.donon@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 85 22
Deputy head of center: Michèle Gardon, michele.gardon@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 51 64

Reception: Thanh-Thuy Trinh-Khac, documentationDAG@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 51 94; Christophe Baron, christophe.baron@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 57

Italian school / Late 18th- and early 19th-century French school: Laura Angelucci, documentary researcher, laura.angelucci@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 25
Library reception: Patricia Arnoult-Brohan, patricia.arnoult-brohan@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 84 24
Photography collection: Elisabetta Bartoli, documentary researcher, elisabetta.bartoli@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 27
Edmond de Rothschild collection of prints: Victoria Fernandez, documentary researcher, victoria.fernandez@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 32 and +33 (0)1 40 20 55 09
Prints from the Cabinet des Dessins: Isabelle Leunuque, documentary researcher, isabelle.leunuque@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 54 82
Italian school: Roberta Serra, documentary researcher, roberta.serra@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 67
Library: Cloé Viala, documentary researcher, cloe.viala@louvre.fr, +33 (0)1 40 20 50 66

Practical information

Click here to take a look at the online inventory of the Department of Prints and Drawings (in French only).

Department viewing room
Opening hours: Monday to Friday, 1–6 p.m.
Access must be requested in writing.
Location: Porte des lions
Contact: cabinet-des-dessins@louvre.fr
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 52 51

Rothschild collection
Opening hours: by appointment only
Location: Porte des Lions
Contact: collection-rothschild@louvre.fr
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 50 32

Research center
Opening hours: Monday to Friday, 1–6 p.m.
Free admission
Location: Porte des Lions
Contact: brigitte.donon@louvre.fr and michele.gardon@louvre.fr
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 51 94