Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Study and Research>Prints and Drawings

Prints and Drawings

Created in 1968, the Department of Prints and Drawings research center provides a comprehensive source of information about ancient drawings, with priority given to those of its collections. The service works to enrich and update the files on the department's some 200,000 artworks. Used by members of the department, the research center is open, with no access restrictions, to students, researchers, university professors or researchers, art enthusiasts, and French and international art dealers. The resources on print and drawing techniques cover a wide period from the 13th to the mid-19th century, with a strong focus on the European schools and the American school.

Available resources

Documentary files: each file presents documentation on a drawing at the Louvre or in other French or international collections. The research center also provides free access to files on drawing collectors and donors to the department. The paper files are composed of: offprints, catalogue photocopies, periodical photocopies, monograph photocopies, photographs, reproductions, excerpts of sales catalogues, exhibition texts, index sheets, hand-written notes, photographic prints, etc.
Series of facsimiles of drawings, most of which are on long-term loan from the Bibliothèque Centrale des Musées Nationaux.
Ongoing series of sales catalogues and cataloges from drawing galleries in France and elsewhere.
Standard references: publications by the department, books on the collections and collectors, dictionaries, sources, artist dictionaries, Grand Larousse encyclopédique from the 19th century, etc.
Periodicals: Histoire de l’Art, Perspective, Journal of the History of collections, Master Drawings, Nouvelles de l’estampe, Print Quarterly, Prospettiva, Revue de l’art, Oud Holland, Paragone Arte, Burlington Magazine, Delineavit et sculpsit
CDs and DVDs on art history
Digital illustrated inventory

Staff

Head of center: Brigitte Donon (brigitte.donon@louvre.fr) / Deputy head of center: Michèle Gardon (michele.gardon@louvre.fr)
Reception: Thanh-Thuy Trinh-Khac (documentationDAG@louvre.fr)
Photography collection: Elisabetta Bartoli (elisabetta.bartoli@louvre.fr)
Librarians: Laura Angelucci (laura.angelucci@louvre.fr) / Isabelle Leunuque (isabelle.leunuque@louvre.fr) / Roberta Serra (roberta.serra@louvre.fr) /Cloé Viala (cloe.viala@louvre.fr)
Librarian for the Edmond de Rothschild collection: Victoria Fernandez Massaguer (victoria.fernandez@louvre.fr )

Practical information

RESEARCH CENTER

Location
Flora wing, Porte des Lions, 3rd floor

Admission
General public
Free access

Conditions for using resources
Center materials cannot be borrowed

Opening hours
Monday to Friday from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.