Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Exhibitions & Events>Exhibitions>Elias Crespin, L’Onde du Midi

Exhibition Elias Crespin, L’Onde du Midi

Contemporary Art
from January 25, 2020 to January 25, 2021

Acknowledgments:
This artwork enjoys the support of Frédéric Jousset and the ArtExplora endowment fund.

The Louvre has commissioned another major public artwork, inviting Elias Crespin to design a new permanent piece for the museum. The Venezuelan artist chose to install his kinetic creation in the Colonnade of the prestigious Escalier du Midi designed by Napoleon I’s architects Percier and Fontaine.

A mobile sculpture made up of 128 metal tubes hanging from motor-powered cables, L’Onde du Midi performs a subtle choreography consisting of several configurations: as the stage of a mute ballet, the Colonnade becomes a space where museum visitors can enjoy a moment of rest and contemplation.

This ambitious project continues a long-standing tradition at the Louvre, which has since its beginnings provided an ideal architectural setting for painted and sculpted commissions from living artists. Crespin thus follows in the footsteps of Georges Braque (The Birds, 1953, Salle Henri II), Anselm Kiefer (Athanor, 2007, northern staircase of Perrault’s Colonnade), François Morellet (L’Esprit d’Escalier, 2010, Lefuel staircase) and Cy Twombly (The Ceiling, 2010, Bronzes room).

Integrating L’Onde du Midi into the Louvre’s architecture means reconnecting with the history of the palace, which has been adorned with contemporary creations throughout its existence.

Practical information

From January 25, 2020
Escalier du Midi, Sully wing, level 1

#EliasCrespinAuLouvre

Buy your ticket

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Expositions & Actualités>Expositions>Elias Crespin, L’Onde du midi

Remerciements :
Cette oeuvre a bénéficié du soutien de Frédéric Jousset et du fonds ArtExplora.

Le musée du Louvre renoue avec les grandes commandes publiques et invite l’artiste Elias Crespin à concevoir un nouveau décor pérenne pour le  palais. D’origine vénézuélienne, l’artiste choisit le prestigieux escalier du midi conçu par les architectes de Napoléon Ier, Percier et Fontaine, pour y installer une oeuvre cinétique au sein de la colonnade.

L’Onde du Midi est une sculpture mobile, composée de 128 tubes métalliques, suspendus à des fils et animés par des moteurs afin de créer une  subtile chorégraphie se déployant en plusieurs figures. La colonnade offre ainsi au visiteur une halte contemplative dans son parcours au sein du musée, en devenant le théâtre d’un ballet silencieux.

Cet ambitieux projet s’inscrit dans la continuité de l’histoire du palais du Louvre qui est, depuis sa création, un cadre architectural idéal pour les commandes de décors peints ou sculptés à des artistes vivants. Ainsi, Elias Crespin succède à Georges Braque (Les Oiseaux, 1953, salle Henri II), Anselm Kiefer (Athanor, 2007, escalier nord de la colonnade de Perrault), François Morellet (L’Esprit d’escalier, 2010, escalier Lefuel) et Cy Twombly (The Ceiling, 2010, salle des Bronzes).

Inscrire l’Onde du Midi dans l’architecture des lieux permet de renouer avec l’histoire du palais, dont le décor a toujours reflété les arts de son temps.

Informations pratiques

À partir du 25 janvier 2020
Escalier du midi, aile Sully, 1er étage

Achetez votre billet