Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Guéridon

Work Guéridon

Department of Decorative Arts: 17th century

Round table with porphyry top

Decorative Arts
17th century

Author(s):
Barbier Muriel

The table is composed of a large porphyry top supported on a gilded wooden leg carved with four busts of children. The top was part of the furniture belonging to Nicolas Fouquet, the king's finance minister. Aftrer the king had acquired Fouquet's collection, the leg was made by Philippe Caffiéri. Very few pieces of furniture from the reign of Louis XIV have come down to us: they were either melted down or sold in the eighteenth century, so this is a very rare example of the Sun King's furniture.

The Gobelins workshop

The Louvre table, whose top comes from the Fouquet collection, was made in the Gobelins factory in Paris, where different workshops and guilds were grouped together under the direction of the painter Charles Le Brun (1619-90). There were weavers, gold and silversmiths, a mosaic workshop, and cabinetmakers. During the reign of Louis XIV, a whole team worked together on producing monumental cabinetwork under the direction of the cabinetmaker Domenico Cucci. As well as cabinetmakers like Cucci, Pierre Gole, and André Charles Boulle, woodcarvers also made a significant contribution to creating a new style under Louis XIV, for which the tone was set mainly by Charles Le Brun.

Philippe Caffiéri

Of Italian origin and father to a generation of woodcarvers, Philippe Caffiéri was for many years one of the most highly esteemed carvers and decorators in the service of Louis XIV. Working in collaboration with gilders, particularly La Baronnière, he supplied countless pieces of furniture in carved and gilded wood to the royal palaces. Caffiéri's activities were very extensive. In particular, he worked on the furnishing of the Trianon de Porcelaine (1670) and on the apartment of baths at the château de Versailles (1677), as well as supplying woodcarvings for Marly (1685). It was in 1669 that, on the orders of Louis XIV, who had acquired the porphyry table top four years earlier, Caffiéri made the leg out of carved and gilded wood.

A piece marked by the Louis XIV style

Nicolas Fouquet must have commissioned this table with the intention of having a support made for it, but his fall from favor meant that he did not have time to do this. The tabletop measures one meter forty-five in diameter; because it is so large and heavy, it needed a very solid means of support. The leg is made up of a central column, decorated with acanthus leaves and resting on four lion's paws, which is connected both at top and base to four half-figures of children emerging from the lion's paws. Lion's paws and acanthus leaves were recurring motifs in Louis XIV furniture, as were figures of children on plinths. They were frequently found in garden statuary, notably on the water pyramid in the gardens at Versailles. Although no sketches have been preserved, the design of this piece can be attributed to Charles Le Brun as it shows all the marks of his style. Indeed, furniture in gilded wood had become a timely solution to replace furniture in cast silver, as it still kept its sumptuous appearance but freed up funds to support the War of the League of Augsburg (1686-97).

Bibliography

Lusingh Scheuleer Th. H., in Mélanges Verlet : Studi sulle arti decoratio in Europa, Antologia di belle Arti, 1985, pp. 27-28.

Technical description

  • Manufacture des Gobelins

    Round table with porphyry top

    Paris, 1669

  • D. : 1,45 m. ; H. : 1,91 m.

  • OA 6626

  • Decorative Arts

    Sully wing
    1st floor
    Mazarin
    Room 33

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Guéridon

Table ronde à plateau de porphyre

Objets d'art
XVIIe siècle

Auteur(s) :
Muriel Barbier

Cette table est composée d'un plateau de porphyre de grande dimension soutenu par un pied en bois doré fait de quatre termes d'enfant. Le plateau provient du mobilier de Nicolas Fouquet, Surintendant des Finances du Roi. Le pied a été réalisé, après l'acquisition de ses collections par le roi, par Philippe Caffiéri. Les meubles du temps de Louis XIV, fondus à l'époque ou vendus au XVIIIe siècle, nous sont très peu parvenus. Cette table est donc un rare témoignage du mobilier du Roi Soleil.

L'atelier des Gobelins

La table du Louvre, dont le plateau provient des collections de Fouquet, a été effectuée à la manufacture des Gobelins, à Paris. Là avaient été regroupés différents ateliers et corps de métiers. Tous étaient sous la direction du peintre Charles Le Brun (1619-1690). On y trouvait des lissiers, des orfèvres, un atelier de pierres dures et des ébénistes. Pendant le règne de Louis XIV, toute une équipe travailla à la réalisation de cabinets monumentaux sous la direction de l'ébéniste Domenico Cucci : tout comme les ébénistes Cucci, Pierre Gole ou André Charles Boulle, les sculpteurs contribuèrent aussi, dans une large mesure, à la création d'un nouveau style sous Louis XIV, dont le ton était avant tout donné par Charles Le Brun.

Philippe Caffiéri

D'origine italienne, ancêtre d'une génération de sculpteurs, Philippe Caffiéri fut pendant longtemps un des sculpteurs décorateurs les plus cotés du service de Louis XIV. Il livra en collaboration avec des doreurs, en particulier La Baronnière, d'innombrables meubles en bois sculptés et dorés aux palais royaux. Caffiéri avait des activités très étendues. Il travailla notamment à l'ameublement du Trianon de Porcelaine (1670), à celui de l'appartement des bains du château de Versailles (1677) et livra des sculptures pour Marly (1685). C'est en 1669 que, sur ordre de Louis XIV qui avait acquis le plateau de porphyre quatre ans plus tôt, Caffiéri exécuta le pied en bois sculpté et doré.

Une oeuvre empreinte du style Louis XIV

Nicolas Fouquet avait dû commander ce plateau de table dans l'intention de faire exécuter un support mais sa disgrâce ne lui laissa pas le temps d'y parvenir. Ce plateau, d'un mètre quarante-cinq de diamètre, est volumineux et lourd. Il fallut donc dessiner une construction solide pour le soutenir. Le pied est composé d'une colonne centrale, ornée de feuilles d'acanthe et reposant sur quatre pattes de lion, qui a été réunie en haut et en bas à quatre termes d'enfant issus des pattes de lion. Les pattes de lion et les feuilles d'acanthe sont des motifs récurrents dans le mobilier Louis XIV, tout comme les enfants en gaine. Fréquents dans la statuaire de jardin, on les retrouve notamment sur la pyramide d'eau des jardins de Versailles. Bien qu'aucune esquisse ne soit conservée, on peut attribuer le dessin de cette oeuvre à Charles Le Brun dont le style marqua nettement cette pièce. En outre, le mobilier en bois doré était devenu une solution dont l'aspect demeurait somptueux pour remplacer le mobilier d'argent fondu et soutenir ainsi la guerre de la Ligue d'Augsbourg (1686-1697).

Bibliographie

Lusingh Scheuleer Th. H., in Mélanges Verlet : Studi sulle arti decoratio in Europa, Antologia di belle Arti, 1985, pp. 27-28.

Cartel

  • Manufacture des Gobelins

    Table ronde à plateau de porphyre

    Paris, 1669

  • Chêne sculpté et doré, porphyre, cuivre doré

    D. : 1,45 m. ; H. : 1,91 m.

  • Ancienne collection de la Couronne

    OA 6626

  • Objets d'art

    Aile Sully
    1er étage
    Mazarin
    Salle 601

Informations pratiques

Conformément aux directives gouvernementales de lutte contre la propagation du virus Covid-19, le musée du Louvre et le musée national Eugène-Delacroix sont fermés jusqu'au mardi 15 décembre inclus.

Les visiteurs ayant acheté un billet pour cette période seront remboursés automatiquement. Aucune démarche n’est nécessaire.

Le jardin des Tuileries et le jardin du Carrousel sont ouverts.

Retrouvez sur cette page toutes les informations liées à la situation sanitaire.

Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension.