Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Buy your ticket>Thanks to Your Donations>Throne

Throne

Exhibitions - Archives - July 12, 2018

This contemporary art exhibition is co-organized by the Musée du Louvre and the Japan Foundation.

July 2018 / January 2019 - Under the Pyramid

As part of Japonismes 2018: les âmes en résonance (Japonisms 2018: Souls in Harmony), a large-scale sculpture by the Japanese artist Kohei Nawa will be displayed under the Pyramid of the Musée du Louvre from July 2018 until January 2019.

With this floating vacant throne, Nawa invites the viewer to reflect on the rapid advances in computer science and artificial intelligence, and questions the idea of absolute power. The inspiration for the throne came from the floats often found in religious ceremonies and festivals in Asia. Nawa takes this shape and merges the gold leaf technique, echoing the collections of the Musée du Louvre, with the latest 3D modeling systems.

Japonismes 2018 : les âmes en résonance
Commemorating the 160th anniversary of Japan-France diplomatic relations, the leaders of the two countries agreed in May 2016 to organise an extensive cultural season to showcase Japanese art and culture outside Japan. The diversity of Japanese culture will be celebrated through nearly 100 events such as exhibitions, stage performances, culinary demonstrations, and traditional regional festivals in Paris and other locations from July 2018 to February 2019.

This exhibition is sponsored by the perfume house TAKASAGO.

For more information about Japonismes 2018: les âmes en résonance, visit the website.

Throne de Kohei Nawa

Throne de Kohei Nawa

© Nobutada OMOTE | SANDWICH

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays.
Free admission on the first Saturday of each month
from 6 p.m. to 9:45 p.m.
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Throne

Throne

Expositions - Archives - 12 Juillet 2018

Exposition d'art contemporain organisée par le musée du Louvre et la Fondation du Japon dans le cadre de Japonisme 2018.

Juillet 2018 / Janvier 2019 - Belvédère sous la pyramide

Dans le cadre de la saison Japonismes 2018 : les âmes en résonance, la pyramide du musée du Louvre accueille, de juillet 2018 à janvier 2019, une sculpture monumentale de Kohei Nawa qui représente un « trône vacant flottant ».

Avec ce trône, Kohei Nawa propose une réflexion sur les progrès fulgurants de l’informatique et de l’intelligence artificielle et interroge la question du pouvoir absolu. L’oeuvre, inspirée des formes et des origines des chars utilisés en Asie lors des fêtes religieuses, est une combinaison de l’art de la dorure à la feuille, dont le savoir-faire fait écho aux collections du musée du Louvre, et des derniers systèmes de modelage 3D.

Japonismes 2018 : les âmes en résonance
L’année 2018 marque le 160e anniversaire de l’établissement des relations diplomatiques entre la France et le Japon. En mai 2016, les chefs d’État et de gouvernement des deux pays ont décidé de lancer une saison japonaise culturelle en France. Dès juillet, une centaine d’événements – expositions, concerts, pièces de théâtre, démonstrations d’art de vivre – mettront ainsi à l’honneur à Paris et dans toute la France la culture japonaise sous toutes ses facettes.

L’exposition bénéficie du mécénat de la maison de parfums TAKASAGO.

Plus d’information sur Japonismes 2018 ici. 

Throne de Kohei Nawa

Throne de Kohei Nawa

© Nobutada OMOTE | SANDWICH

Informations pratiques

Le musée du Louvre est ouvert tous les jours sauf le mardi. Le port du masque est obligatoire. Retrouvez sur cette page toutes les informations sur les conditions de visite de cet été.

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre 2020

Réservation en ligne fortement conseillée :

Achetez votre billet