Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Athena

Work Athena

Department of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities: Classical Greek Art (5th-4th centuries BC)

Athena, called the "Peaceable" or the "Mattei Athena"

© 2006 Musée du Louvre / Daniel Lebée et Carine Deambrosis

Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities
Classical Greek Art (5th-4th centuries BC)

Author(s):
Astier Marie-Bénédicte

The Athena Mattei is exceptional in that it is a Roman replica of a Greek statue that has also survived. The figure is a copy of the Piraeus Athena, a fourth-century BC bronze statue, created by Cephisodotus or Euphranor, discovered in 1959. The erstwhile goddess of war - seen here in a more benevolent attitude - wears a helmet and, across her chest, the aegis (the skin of the goat of Amaltheia), bordered with snakes and adorned with the head of the gorgon Medusa.

A peaceful Athena

Through the gentleness of her face, the casual arrangement of her peplos and the welcoming gesture with which she greets the worshiper, the Peaceful Athena, originally in the Mattei collection, offers a softer, more humane image of the goddess than those from the fifth century BC. She nevertheless retains the attributes of the warrior goddess, protector of Athens: a Corinthian-style helmet that has been pushed up, and the aegis, the skin of the goat of Amaltheia given to her by her father Zeus. Worn across her chest like a sash, the aegis is adorned with the head of the gorgon Medusa and bordered with snakes, a reminder of the Medusa's terrifying crown of serpents, instead of hair. Perseus decapitated the gorgon, and offered the head to Athena, in whose hands it became a formidable weapon.

A copy of a fourth-century BC original

This monumental statue is a replica inspired by a Classical Greek bronze made circa 350 BC. The original work is attributed by some to Cephisodotus, based on a comparison with the tender expression of his sculpture of Eirene carrying the infant Plutus (the best copy of which is in Munich), or to Euphranor, by comparing the treatment of the drapery with that of the Apollo Patroos (the original is in the Agora Museum in Athens).

An adaptation of the Piraeus Athena?

Quite exceptionally, the original Greek statue upon which the Athena Mattei is based still exists: a large bronze discovered at Piraeus, near Athens, in 1959. The original statue reveals the liberties taken by the copyist. Working in the much heavier medium of marble, he was forced to alter the position of the right arm, which in the original is extended forward. To avoid having to support the arm with an awkward brace, and to alleviate the fragility of the pose, Athena's hand now rests on her hip. Although the copy is an adaptation, there is absolutely no doubt that these works are connected. Nevertheless, the Piraeus Athena was buried in the first century BC. Many have wondered how the copy could have been created after this date, if the original was invisible, leading to the hypothesis that the Louvre Athena is a copy from the second century BC.

Bibliography

Waywell (G. B.), "Athena Mattei", in Annual of the British School at Athens, 66, 1971, p. 373-382, pl. 66

Technical description

  • Athena, called the "Peaceable" or the "Mattei Athena"

    Late 2nd century BC or 2nd century AD

  • Marble

    H. 2.3 m

  • Mattéi collection, then Cardinal Fesch collection between 1808 and 1814; purchased by Louis XVIII from the prince de Beauveau in 1821.
    Purchased in 1821

    Installed in the Palazzo Mattei in 1626

    N° d'entrée LL 300 (n° usuel Ma 530)

  • Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Mini-site

See the related mini-site In the Kingdom of Alexander the Great: Ancient Macedonia

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Athéna

Œuvre Athéna

Département des Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines : Art grec classique (du Ve au IVe siècle av. J.-C.)

Athéna

© 2006 Musée du Louvre / Daniel Lebée et Carine Deambrosis

Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines
Art grec classique (du Ve au IVe siècle av. J.-C.)

Auteur(s) :
Marie-Bénédicte Astier


L'Athéna pacifique de la collection Mattéi offre le cas exceptionnel d'une réplique romaine librement inspirée d'un original également conservé, que l'on reconnaît dans l'Athéna du Pirée, en bronze, découverte en 1959. A l'image du modèle créé au IVe siècle av. J.-C. par Céphisodote ou Euphranor, la déesse de la Guerre, ici bienveillante, est représentée casquée, la poitrine traversée par l'égide, la peau de la chèvre Amalthée, bordée de serpents et ornée de la tête de la gorgone Méduse.

Une Athéna pacifique

Par la douceur de son visage, l'agencement négligé du péplos et le geste d'invite qu'elle adresse au fidèle, l'Athéna pacifique de la collection Mattéi offre une image adoucie de la déesse, plus humaine que ne le sont les Athénas du Ve siècle av. J.-C. Elle conserve néanmoins les attributs qui l'assimilent à la déesse guerrière, protectrice d'Athènes. Elle porte le casque de type corinthien relevé sur la chevelure, et sa poitrine est traversée par l'égide, la peau de la chèvre Amalthée offerte par son père Zeus. Réduite à la dimension d'une écharpe, cette cuirasse est ornée de la tête de la Gorgone Méduse et bordée de serpents qui rappellent la chevelure de ce monstre au pouvoir pétrifiant. Après l'avoir décapitée, le héros Persée avait offert la tête de Méduse à Athéna, qui en usait comme d'une arme redoutable.

Une réplique d'un original du IVe siècle av. J.-C.

Cette statue monumentale est une réplique librement inspirée d'un bronze grec de l'époque classique, créé vers 350 av. J.-C. L'œuvre originale est attribuée soit à Céphisodote, par comparaison avec la tendre expression de son Eirénè portant l'enfant Ploutos (dont la meilleure copie est conservée à Munich), soit à Euphranor, par rapprochement avec le traitement du drapé de son Apollon Patrôos (dont l'original est conservé au musée de l'Agora d'Athènes).

Adaptation de l'Athéna du Pirée ?

Fait exceptionnel, il semble que l'original dont s'inspire l'Athéna Mattéi soit également conservé dans un grand bronze, mis au jour au Pirée, près d'Athènes, en 1959. Ce bronze révèle les libertés prises par le copiste : assujetti aux contraintes du travail du marbre : il a modifié le geste du bras droit, initialement tendu vers l'avant, et placé la main sur la hanche, pour éviter un étai disgracieux et pallier la fragilité de la pose. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une adaptation, le rapprochement des deux œuvres est indiscutable. Cependant, l'Athéna du Pirée était enfouie dès le Ier siècle av. J.-C. Certains s'interrogent alors sur la manière dont a été réalisée la copie après cette date, alors même que l'original était invisible. De là l'hypothèse qui fait de l'Athéna du Louvre une copie du IIe siècle av. J.-C.

Bibliographie

Waywell (G. B.), "Athena Mattei", in Annual of the British School at Athens, 66, 1971, p. 373-382, pl. 66

Cartel

  • Athéna

    IIe siècle av. J.-C. ou IIe siècle apr. J.-C. (?)

    Découverte à Rome

    Italie (?), Athènes (?)

  • Ronde-bosse, bas-relief, marbre de Paros

    H. : 2,30 m.

  • D'abord dans la collection Mattéi, puis dans celle du cardinal Fesch. Achat par Louis XVIII au prince de Beauveau, en 1821

    dite "Pacifique" ou "Athéna Mattéi"

    N° d'entrée LL 300 (n° usuel Ma 530)

  • Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet

Mini-site

Voir le mini-site Au royaume d'Alexandre : La Macédoine antique.