Go to content Go to navigation Go to search Change language

Home>Collection & Louvre Palace>Curatorial Departments>Madame Récamier

Madame Récamier, née Julie (dite Juliette) Bernard (1777 - 1849)

© 2002 RMN / Gérard Blot

Paintings
French painting

Author(s):
De Vergnette François

Juliette Récamier, the wife of a Parisian banker, was one of the most famous socialites of her time. This portrait, showing her dressed in the "antique style" and surrounded by Pompeian furniture in an otherwise bare picture space, was extremely avant-garde for 1800. Exactly why it was never finished is unclear, but its state enables one to study David's technique before his vibrant preliminary brushwork and background rubbings were "glazed over" with translucent colors.

An ideal of feminine elegance

Madame Récamier, gracefully reclined on a meridienne with her head turned towards the viewer, is dressed in a white antique-style sleeveless dress and is barefoot. The room is empty except for the antique-style sofa, stool and candelabra. She is seen from some distance, so her face is quite small, but this is less a portrait of a person than of an ideal of feminine elegance. Madame Récamier (1777-1849), although then only twenty-three, was already one of the most admired women of her time. The daughter of a notary, she epitomized the social ascension of the new post-revolutionary elite. Her husband, older than her, had become one of the principal financial backers of the First Consul, Napoleon Bonaparte. In their mansion, restored by the architect Percier and furnished by the cabinetmaker Jacob, the couple entertained numerous writers, some of whom - like Benjamin Constant or Chateaubriand - fell passionately in love with Madame Récamier.

One of David's whims

Commissioned by Madame Récamier in 1800, the picture remained unfinished for reasons unknown. David was not satisfied with it and wanted to rework it but Madame Récamier, who thought David worked too slowly, commissioned one of his pupils to paint her portrait instead. Vexed by this, David said to his model: "Women have their whims, and so do artists; allow me to satisfy mine by keeping this portrait." The painting remained in his studio, unfinished, and was probably not seen by the public until after it entered the Louvre in 1826. In 1864, Théophile Gautier wrote of Madame Récamier's "indescribable attraction, like the poetry of the unknown."

The esthetic of the unfinished

One of the work's innovative aspects is its horizontal format, unusual for a portrait, and habitually reserved for history paintings. The bare space around the figure emphasizes the elegant arabesque of Madame Récamier's reclined body. Her antique pose, the bare décor and light dress all epitomize neoclassical ideals. The clear harmony of the ensemble, due to Juliette Récamier's white dress, is brightened up by the warm hues of the furniture. Only the model's head is nearly finished, and David has not yet added highlights to the impasto of her dress. The accessories, walls and floor are merely sketched in with vibrant brushstrokes, with the white undercoat still showing through in places. The canvas' unfinished state gives the picture a mysterious, poetic appearance doubtless very different to the finished portrait David had in mind. After the minutely detailed portraits he painted during the Ancien Régime, several of David's portraits after the Revolution have unfinished backgrounds (Madame Trudaine, Musée du Louvre).

Bibliography

Schnapper Antoine, Jacques Louis David 1748-1825, catalogue de l'exposition, Paris, Musée du Louvre, Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1989, p. 356-357.

Technical description

  • Jacques-Louis DAVID (Paris, 1748 - Bruxelles, 1825)

    Madame Récamier, née Julie (dite Juliette) Bernard (1777 - 1849)

    1800

  • H. : 1,74 m. ; L. : 2,44 m.

  • Acquis à la vente de l'atelier de David, 1826 , 1826

    INV. 3708

  • Paintings

    Denon wing
    1st floor
    Daru
    Room 75

Practical information

The Louvre is open every day (except Tuesday) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Night opening until 9:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays
 
Closed on the following holidays: January 1, May 1, December 25
 
Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
 

Buy tickets

Allez au contenu Allez au menu principal Allez à la recherche Change language

Accueil>Œuvres & Palais>Collections et départements>Madame Récamier

Madame Récamier, née Julie (dite Juliette) Bernard (1777 - 1849)

© 2002 RMN / Gérard Blot

Peintures
Peinture française

Auteur(s) :
François de Vergnette

Juliette Récamier, épouse d'un banquier parisien, fut l'une des femmes les plus en vue de son temps. Ce portrait, qui la présente vêtue "à l'antique", dans un cadre dépouillé, entourée de meubles pompéiens est en 1800 à l'avant-garde de la mode. Son inachèvement - dont la raison est mal définie - permet d'étudier la technique de David, avant que les touches vibrantes et les "frottis" du fond ne soient "glacés" de couleurs translucides.

Un idéal d'élégance féminine

Allongée gracieusement sur une méridienne, Madame Récamier tourne sa tête vers le spectateur. Elle est vêtue d'une robe blanche à l'antique qui découvre ses bras et ses pieds nus. Elle se trouve dans une pièce presque vide avec peu de mobilier, hormis le sofa, un tabouret et un candélabre d'inspiration antique. La figure entière est vue d'assez loin, son visage occupe peu de place. C'est plus que la représentation d'une personne, c'est un idéal d'élégance féminine. Madame Récamier (1777-1849) avait alors vingt-trois ans mais était déjà une des femmes les plus admirées de son temps, en raison de sa beauté et de son salon. Elle était le symbole de l'ascension sociale de la nouvelle élite post-révolutionnaire. Fille d'un notaire, elle avait épousé en 1793 un banquier plus âgé qu'elle, qui était devenu l'un des principaux soutiens financiers du premier consul, Napoléon Bonaparte. Dans leur hôtel particulier restauré par l'architecte Percier et meublé par l'ébéniste Jacob, le couple recevait de nombreux écrivains dont certains, Benjamin Constant ou Chateaubriand, furent pris de passion pour la maîtresse de maison.

Un caprice de David

Commandé en 1800 à David par le modèle, ce tableau est resté inachevé pour des raisons obscures et sans doute multiples. David n'en était pas satisfait et voulait le reprendre mais Madame Récamier, trouvant David trop lent, demanda son portrait à l'un des élèves du maître. Le peintre se vexa et dit à son modèle : "Les femmes ont leur caprice, les artistes en ont aussi ; permettez que je satisfasse le mien, je garderai votre portrait." L'oeuvre fut conservée dans son atelier. C'est bien après son entrée au Louvre en 1826 que ce tableau fut redécouvert. En 1864, Théophile Gautier parla à propos de cette figure de son "attrait indicible comme la poésie de l'inconnu".

L'esthétique de l'inachèvement

C'est une oeuvre novatrice dans un format horizontal, insolite pour un portrait, qui était d'habitude utilisé pour les tableaux d'histoire. David crée un espace autour de la figure qui met en valeur l'arabesque élégante de son corps. La source antique de la pose de Madame Récamier, le dépouillement du décor comme de l'habillement de la jeune femme répondent à l'idéal néoclassique. L'harmonie claire de l'ensemble, due à la robe blanche de Juliette Récamier, est égayée par les tons chauds des meubles. Dans cette toile, seule la tête du modèle est presque terminée. Les glacis manquent sur les pâtes coulantes de la robe. Les accessoires, les murs et le sol sont restés à l'état de frottis vibrant. La préparation blanche apparaît par endroit. L'inachèvement de la toile lui donne un aspect mystérieux et poétique très différent sans doute de celui qu'aurait recherché David en achevant ce portrait. Après les portraits minutieux peints sous l'Ancien Régime, l'oeuvre de David à partir de la Révolution compte plusieurs portraits au fond inachevé comme ici (Portrait de Madame Trudaine, musée du Louvre).

Bibliographie

- SCHNAPPER Antoine, Jacques-Louis David 1748-1825, catalogue de l'exposition, Musée du Louvre, Éditions de la Réunion des musées nationaux, Paris, 1989, p. 356-357.

Cartel

  • Jacques-Louis DAVID (Paris, 1748 - Bruxelles, 1825)

    Madame Récamier, née Julie (dite Juliette) Bernard (1777 - 1849)

    1800

  • H. : 1,74 m. ; L. : 2,44 m.

  • Acquis à la vente de l'atelier de David, 1826 , 1826

    INV. 3708

  • Peintures

    Aile Denon
    1er étage
    Daru
    Salle 75

Informations pratiques

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris - France
+ 33 (0)1 40 20 53 17

Horaires :
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h sauf le mardi
Nocturnes jusqu’à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi
24 et 31 décembre 2014 : ouvert jusqu'à 17h

Fermetures :
Les 1er janvier, 1er mai et 25 décembre

Information in other languages

Newsletter

Achetez votre billet